February 16, 2011

Trio Named Captains for Scranton Women

from press release

SCRANTON, Pa. - Becky Davis, head women's lacrosse coach at The University of Scranton, has announced that seniors Liz Chase (Ridgewood, N.J./Ridgewood), Kristin Pickell (Ambler, Pa./Wissahickon) and Katie Slade (Buckingham, Pa./Central Bucks East) will serve as captains for the upcoming 2011 season. Chase, a defender, returns to the lineup after sitting out the entire 2010 season with an injury. In her two previous seasons, she appeared in 31 games and finished with 41 ground balls and 24 caused turnovers. During the 2008 season, She played in all 16 games, started 14 times and finished seventh on the team in caused turnovers (10 and eighth in ground balls (17). In 2009, she played in 15 games, started 14 times and finished with 25 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers. She was a key member of a defensive unit that held eight opponents to 10-or-fewer goals.

Pickell has started 42 of 46 games at midfield in her career and is coming off the most productive season of her career, scoring 21 goals and assisting on four others to finish with 25 total points last spring. In addition, she scored at least one goal in 11 games and had six multi-goal games. Pickell enters this year 17 points shy of moving into the top 20 all-time in Scranton history.

Slade, a three-year starter at defender/midfielder, is one of only five players in Scranton history to earn all-conference honors three times in a career. Last spring, she was named first-team all-Landmark for the second consecutive season after earning second-team honors in 2008. In 48 career games, she has 50 goals and 14 assists for 64 total points. She enters the 2011 season tied for second all-time in Scranton history with 91 caused turnovers. Slade is also seventh in draw controls (96), 10th in ground balls (143), 18th in total points and goals, and tied for 20th in assists in Royals' history.

The Royals will open their 2011 season on Wednesday, March 2, against Haverford College beginning at 4:00 p.m. at Fitzpatrick Field.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines