Club Women

October 8, 2009

WDIA Nationals Will Have Division II Component

from press release

BALTIMORE – Starting in 2010, the US Lacrosse Women’s Division Intercollegiate Associates (WDIA) National Championships will include two tournaments for Divisions I and II. Previously, the US Lacrosse WDIA only supported a championship for Division I, which consisted of 16 teams that made their way to the tournament via an automatic qualifier or an at-large bid. The 2010 WDIA Division II tournament will consist of 8 teams from the Division II section of WDIA schools, starting with an at-large selection process in 2010.

The WDIA teams will be classified by the WDIA Council as either Division I or Division II for tournament purposes only. Division II schools are generally smaller schools, emerging lacrosse programs or from emerging leagues via an at-large selection process.  Teams classified as Division II may request each year to move up to Division I. Division I teams will generally not be allowed to move down to Division II. In 2010, the WDIA will also release preseason and midseason polls for Division II teams. The WDIA Division I poll will continue to be posted weekly throughout the season.

“US Lacrosse has long supported the growth of the women’s collegiate game, both at the NCAA and club level,” said Ann Carpenetti, women’s division director at US Lacrosse. “Through the WDIA, competitive collegiate women’s club lacrosse in the United States has remained a viable and rewarding playing opportunity for thousands of young college women who are either picking up a lacrosse stick for the first time or want to continue playing after high school for a shot at a national title. The growth at this level has been so significant that US Lacrosse believes it is time to offer an additional championship opportunity to smaller or emerging teams outside of the top 16.  We are excited about providing a first class experience to even more WDIA teams in 2010, and look forward to seeing who will rise to the top in this inaugural year of the WDIA Division II Championship.”

The 2010 US Lacrosse WDIA National Championship will take place May 5-8 in Scottsdale, Ariz. Brine is the official presenting sponsor for the 2010 US Lacrosse WDIA National Championship.

The US Lacrosse WDIA structure consists of more than 186 college club teams from around the country. Further information about the WDIA is available online at

US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. US Lacrosse has more than 300,000 members in 62 regional chapters around the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse strives to provide programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. To learn more about US Lacrosse, visit

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines