Club Women

May 6, 2014

WCLA Championship Makes its Way to East Coast

from Press Release

Defending DI champion Colorado State returns as a No. 7 seed. (Cecil Copeland)

BALTIMORE – The 14th annual US Lacrosse Women's Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championships, presented by Harrow Sports, has a new home.

For the first time in its history, the event moves to the East Coast for the start of a two-year commitment at the Princess Anne Athletic Complex & Stadium in Virginia Beach.

The WCLA is comprised of approximately 200 college club teams from coast-to-coast that compete under the US Lacrosse umbrella. From these, the most deserving Division I and Division II teams qualify for the season-ending national championships, conducted by US Lacrosse each spring.

The 16-team Division I championship begins on Wednesday, while the 12-team Division II championship starts Thursday. The event concludes with championship games for both divisions on Saturday afternoon. Complete coverage of the event, including game blogs and updates, will be provided on

For the first time, Pittsburgh is the No. 1 seed in the Division I championship. The Panthers, 17-1 overall, are making their eighth overall appearance in the championship and were a national quarterfinalist last year. Pitt will try to become the second straight No. 1 seed to claim the crown, following the path of last year's top seed Colorado State. The defending champion Rams are the No. 7 seed in this year's tournament.

Eight members of this year's Division I field were also participants in last year's championship in Colorado Springs. In addition to Pittsburgh and Colorado State, the list includes Florida, Georgia, Santa Clara, Michigan, UC Santa Barbara and Texas. Four-time champion Colorado State has the longest current streak for appearances, making its 11th straight showing in 2014. Third-seeded Ohio State and No. 16 seed Oregon State are the two teams making their first Division I championship appearances.

The longest drought between appearances in the championship field belongs to Delaware, which last participated in the 2005 championship. The Blue Hens are the No. 14 seed and compete as members of the Mid Atlantic Women's Lacrosse League (MAWLL). They are one of three MAWLL teams in the Division I field, along with No. 9 seed Towson Club and No. 12 seed Virginia Tech Club.

In the Division II bracket, 2012 national champion North Carolina Club earned the top seed and brings an unblemished 11-0 overall record into the WCLA National Championship. The Tar Heels won the MAWLL's Division II title this season with a 15-14 overtime win over James Madison, last year's Division II national champion. James Madison Club is the number two seed in this year's championship. The MAWLL also has two other teams represented in the Division II field in Loyola Maryland Club and Duke Club.

Six of the top eight seeds in this year's Division II field were also participants in last year's championship: No. 1 seed North Carolina, No. 2 seed James Madison, No. 3 seed Utah, No. 4 seed Loyola Maryland, No. 6 seed Duke and No. 8 seed Oakland. The expanded Division II field, which grew from eight teams to 12 teams this year, features three first timers: No. 5 seed Gonzaga, No. 10 seed UC San Diego and No. 12 seed SUNY Cortland.

No. 8 seed Oakland is the only school to appear in all five Division II championships, although the Golden Grizzlies are still seeking their first tournament victory. Two other members of this year's expanded D-II line-up, North Carolina Club and Utah, are each making their fourth appearance in the championship.

WCLA Division I First Round Games – Wednesday, May 7
11 am – No. 1 Pittsburgh vs. No. 16 Oregon State
11 am – No. 8 Michigan Club vs. No. 9 Towson Club
11 am – No. 5 UCLA vs. No. 12 Virginia Tech Club
11 am – No. 4 Georgia vs. No. 13 Texas
2 pm – No. 3 Ohio State Club vs. No. 14 Delaware Club
2 pm – No. 6 Santa Clara vs. No. 11 Colorado
2 pm – No. 7 Colorado State vs. No. 10 UC Santa Barbara
2 pm – No. 2 Florida Club vs. No. 15 Boston College Club

WCLA Division II First Round Groupings – Thursday, May 8
Pod A – No. 1 North Carolina Club, No. 8 Oakland, No. 12 SUNY Cortland Club
Pod B – No. 2 James Madison Club, No. 7 SMU, No. 11 St. Benedict
Pod C - No. 3 Utah, No. 6 Duke Club, No. 10 UD San Diego
Pod D – No. 4 Loyola Maryland Club, No. 5 Gonzaga, No. 9 Denver Club, an official website of US Lacrosse, will have complete coverage of the championships all week – including live blogs, stories and scores, updated game schedules, brackets and photo galleries. Check it often to stay up to date with the latest info.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines