April 25, 2012

Men's, Women's Tewaaraton Award Nominees Announced

from press release

WASHINGTON – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2012 Tewaaraton Award men's and women's nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Twenty five women and 25 men were selected as nominees, from which the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (five women, five men) will be selected and honored May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Men's Nominees

Cornell senior midfielder Roy Lang is the lone member of the Big Red to make the list of 25 nominees for the men's Tewaaraton Award.
© John Strohsacker/LaxPhotos.com 

The men's award nominees include players from 20 schools, including 2011 winner Steele Stanwick (Virginia) and representatives from 18 of the current top 20 teams in the April 23 USILA Men's Division I Poll. Salisbury University's Sam Bradman the lone Division III representative. Five schools had two players nominated, including Johns Hopkins (Pierce Bassett, Tucker Durkin), Princeton (Tyler Fiorito, Tom Schreiber), Massachusetts (Anthony Biscardi, Will Manny), Loyola (Scott Ratliff, Michael Sawyer) and Virginia (Colin Briggs, Stanwick).

Pierce Bassett, Goalie - Johns Hopkins University
Peter Baum, Midfield - Colgate University
Jesse Bernhardt, Long Stick Midfield - Maryland
Anthony Biscardi, Midfield - University of Massachusetts
Sam Bradman, Midfield - Salisbury University
Colin Briggs, Midfield - University of Virginia
CJ Costabile, Long Stick Midfield - Duke University
Kevin Cunningham, Attack - Villanova University
Tucker Durkin, Defense - Johns Hopkins
Billy Eisenreich, Attack - Bucknell University
Tyler Fiorito, Goalie - Princeton University
Marcus Holman, Attack/Midfield - North Carolina
Austin Kaut, Goalie - Penn State University
John Kemp, Goalie - University of Notre Dame
Roy Lang, Midfield - Cornell University
Will Manny, Attack - University of Massachusetts
Kiel Matisz, Midfield - Robert Morris University
Mark Matthews, Attack - University of Denver
Brian Megill, Defense - Syracuse University
Mason Poli, Defense - Bryant University
Scott Ratliff, LSM - Loyola University
Michael Sawyer, Attack - Loyola University
Tom Schreiber, Midfield - Princeton University
Steele Stanwick, Attack - University of Virginia
Garrett Thul, Attack - United States Military Academy

Women's Nominees

Ohio State's Alayna Markwordt is one of 25 women's Tewaaraton Award nominees. The men's and women's lists will be trimmed to five finalists on May 10 before the winners are announced May 31.
 © Bill Danielewski

The women's award nominees include players from 17 schools, including 2011 winner Shannon Smith (Northwestern) and representatives from 16 of the current top 20 teams in the April 24 IWLCA Division I Poll. Maryland (Kari Ellen Johnson, Iliana Sanza, Katie Schwarzmann) and North Carolina (Kara Cannizzaro, Becky Lynch, Laura Zimmerman) led all schools with three nominees each. Schwarzmann and Smith have been nominated for a second straight year.

Dana Cahill, Goalie - Penn State University
Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield - University of North Carolina
Ally Carey, Midfield - Vanderbilt University
Kitty Cullen, Attack - University of Florida
Brittany Dashiell, Midfield - University of Florida
Emma Hamm, Attack - Duke University
Kristin Igoe, Midfield - Boston College
Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack - University of Maryland
Becky Lynch, Attack - University of North Carolina
Alayna Markwordt, Attack - Ohio State University
Alyssa Murray, Attack - Syracuse University
Josie Owen, Attack - University of Virginia
Marlee Paton, Midfield - Loyola University
Sarah Plumb, Midfield - Dartmouth College
Iliana Sanza, Defense - University of Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield - University of Maryland
Shannon Smith, Midfield - Northwestern University
Jessi Steinberg, Attack - Cornell University
Maggie Tamasitis, Attack - University of Notre Dame
Mary Teeters, Goalie - Towson University
Sophia Thomas, Midfield - Georgetown University
Taylor Thornton, Defense - Northwestern University
Michelle Tumolo, Attack - Syracuse University
Kim Wenger, Midfield - Duke University
Laura Zimmerman, Midfield - University of North Carolina

Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced May 10 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men's and women's watch lists, were announced Feb. 15 with additions made March 20 and April 3 and were ultimately comprised of 82 men's players and 57 women's players.

"We congratulate these 50 elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year's finalists next month."

The selection committees are comprised of 12 men's and ten women's current and former coaches.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award and to purchase tickets to the ceremony, please visit www.tewaaraton.com. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at www.facebook.com/Tewaaraton and www.twitter.com/tewaaraton.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines