May 31, 2012

Poll: Who Should Win the Tewaaraton Awards?

by Corey McLaughlin | | Twitter

Who should win the men's Tewaaraton Award?
Peter Baum, Colgate
CJ Costabile, Duke
Will Manny, UMass
Mike Sawyer, Loyola
Steele Stanwick, Virginia

View Results
Who should win the women's Tewaaraton Award?
Brittany Dashiell, Florida
Becky Lynch, North Carolina
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse

View Results

The dust has settled on the postseason, and on Thursday night the men's and women's Tewaaraton Awards will be handed out at the Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

But who should win college lacrosse's greatest honors?

The men's postseason complicated matters a bit. Unlike in past years, there doesn't appear to be a clear-cut favorite, or even two.

Reigning Tewaaraton winner Steele Stanwick and Virginia lost in the quarterfinals to Virginia. Peter Baum, the nation's leading scorer from Colgate, and the Raiders fell in the same round to Duke and CJ Costabile, who then lost to Maryland in the semifinals at Gillette Stadium over the weekend. Loyola's Mike Sawyer didn't even finish the leading scorer on his own team, after Eric Lusby's emergence and a NCAA postseason-record 17 goals. Will Manny and UMass lost in the first round to Colgate.

On the women's side, Northwestern took the title on Saturday, which should help Taylor Thornton's case. But did you notice Michelle Tumolo's performance down the stretch for Syracuse? Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland), Brittany Dashiell (Florida) and Becky Lynch (North Carolina) are also in the running.

Vote on who you think should win, and check back to Thursday night and Friday for full coverage from the Tewaaraton ceremonies.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines