October 14, 2013

Best Of Lacrosse - Men's Player of the Year Finalists

by Sean Burns | LaxMagazine.com | Twitter

There's no way to make an easy choice in this year's race for the top men's lacrosse player out there. Our five candidates racked up hardware, scoring titles, milestones, and whatever else you could hope for.

Do you go for the all-time NCAA leading scorer? Or the Mann Cup MVP? The new No. 22 at 'Cuse or one that wore it in their last NCAA title run? You make the call, and cast your votes.


Don't get the mag? Join US Lacrosse and its 400,000-plus members today to start your subscription.

Best Men's Player Finalists

Kevin Crowley, Hamilton Nationals

The Major League Lacrosse MVP tied for the league lead with 55 points on 38 goals and 14 assists, helping the Nationals into the postseason after a year off in 2012. The Team Canada hopeful continued to hold court as one of the finer midfielders in the game both indoor and out, putting up 72 points for the Philadelphia Wings.

Jordan Evans, Jamesville-Dewitt (N.Y.)

After a 401-point career at Jamesville-Dewitt, Evans earned another numerical milestone at his new destination in Syracuse – being honored as the new recipient of the fabled No. 22 for the Orange after the graduation of 2013 Tewaaraton finalist Jojo Marasco. As a senior, Evans had a gaudy 82 goals and 100 assists, shattering the school record.

Cody Jamieson, Rochester/Hamilton/Six Nations

Speaking of No. 22 – Jamieson is one of that rarified fraternity, and held its esteem high this year, putting in solid campaigns for the NLL champion Rochester Knighthawks, Mann Cup champion Six Nations Chiefs and MLL playoff squad Hamilton Nationals. Jamieson was the MVP of both the MSL and Mann Cup playoffs for the Chiefs, and had 33 goals and 70 assists for the Knighthawks on the road to the Champions Cup.

Rob Pannell, Cornell/New York Lizards

Making the most of 2013 after earning a redshirt due to a season-ending injury in Cornell's second game of 2012, Pannell finished his NCAA career as the all-time leading scorer in men's Division I history (354 points) passing Matt Danowski in the Big Red's NCAA tournament semifinals appearance against eventual champion Duke. He won both the Lt. Raymond Enners Award and the Tewaaraton as the best collegiate player, going No. 1 in the Major League Lacrosse draft to the Long Island Lizards, where earned Rookie of the Year honors after a 25 goal, 17 assist campaign.

Lyle Thompson, Albany

The first-ever Native American finalist for the Tewaaraton Award, Thompson was a First Team All-American at attack after a 113-point season, two points shy of the NCAA record set by Steve Marahol. He led the nation in points per game with 6.65 and set a school record with 63 assists, helping the Great Danes to the NCAA tournament.

Who gets your vote? Follow along as voting continues at LaxMagazine.com and on social media at #bestoflax

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines