December 22, 2009

LM Tabs Preseason Rankings, Players of the Year

from staff report


* DaSilva's LM Rankings Breakdown: Division I Men
* Coyne's "Real Deal": Division III Men
* Coyne's "Real Deal": Division III Women
* Coyne's "Real Deal": MCLA

BALTIMORE — College lacrosse will feature more of the same in 2010, as 10 of the 11 teams that won national championships in 2009 have been picked to repeat as title-winners in 2010 in Lacrosse Magazine’s annual preseason college rankings, released today. The magazine also named its Preseason Player of the Year in each division of play.

The rankings, compiled by Lacrosse Magazine staff after consultations with coaches, predict Northwestern to win its sixth straight NCAA Division I women’s championship. Duke has been named the preseason favorite to capture the NCAA Division I men’s championship.

Champions from 2009 selected to repeat: C.W. Post (NCAA Division II men), Adelphi (NCAA Division II women), Cortland (NCAA Division III men), Franklin & Marshall (NCAA Division III women), Virginia Tech’s club team (US Lacrosse Women’s Division Intercollegiate Associates), Michigan (Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association Division I), St. Thomas (MCLA Division II) and Onondaga’s men’s and women’s teams in the National Junior College Athletic Association.

The magazine honored 11 student-athletes as the best in their respective divisions of play, highlighted by Duke’s Ned Crotty, one of just two collegians on the 2010 U.S. men’s team. He led the nation with 55 assists last year and was named a Tewaaraton Trophy finalist and the ACC Player of the Year in 2009. Crotty will lead the last group of Blue Devils awarded an extra season of eligibility by the NCAA as compensation for Duke’s cancelled 2006 season. Maryland senior midfielder Caitlyn McFadden was named LM’s Preseason Player of the Year in NCAA Division I women’s play. McFadden led the Terrapins to a 21-1 record and a berth in the NCAA semifinals last season, and she followed that with a gold medal with Team USA in last summer’s Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup.

The rankings and preseason honorees appear below and are profiled in the January issue of Lacrosse Magazine. Expanded college previews will run in the February issue. Subscription information appears below.

NCAA Division I Men

1. Duke
2. Syracuse
3. Virginia
4. North Carolina
5. Johns Hopkins
6. Cornell
7. Princeton
8. Maryland
9. Hofstra
10. Notre Dame
11. Harvard
12. UMBC
13. Navy
14. Georgetown
15. Brown
16. Loyola
17. Massachusetts
18. Stony Brook
19. Denver
20. Bucknell
Preseason Player of the Year: Ned Crotty, Duke

NCAA Division I Women

1. Northwestern
2. Maryland
3. North Carolina
4. Penn
5. Duke
6. Georgetown
7. Syracuse
8. Virginia
9. Notre Dame
10. Princeton
11. Vanderbilt
12. Dartmouth
13. Boston University
14. Stanford
15. Loyola
16. Ohio State
17. Towson
18. Cornell
19. James Madison
20. William & Mary
Preseason Player of the Year: Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland

NCAA Division II Men

1. C.W. Post
2. Le Moyne
4. Merrimack
5. Limestone
6. Mercyhurst
7. Dowling
8. Mars Hill
9. St. Leo
10. Molloy
Preseason Player of the Year: Drew Bezek, Le Moyne

NCAA Division II Women

1. Adelphi
2. Dowling
3. Lock Haven
4. Mercyhurst
5. Stonehill
6. C.W. Post
7. West Chester
8. Merrimack
9. Limestone
10. Gannon
Preseason Player of the Year: Kaitlyn Carter, Adelphi

NCAA Division III Men

1. Cortland
2. Stevenson
3. Gettysburg
4. Haverford
5. Salisbury
6. Denison
7. Roanoke
8. Middlebury
9. Western New England
10. Cabrini
11. Tufts
12. Washington & Lee
13. Wesleyan
14. Ithaca
15. Lynchburg
16. St. Lawrence
17. Nazareth
18. Washington College
19. Geneseo
20. St. John Fisher
Preseason Player of the Year: Steve Kazimer, Stevenson

NCAA Division III Women

1. Franklin & Marshall
2. Salisbury
3. Gettysburg
4. Hamilton
6. Middlebury
7. Catholic
8. Tufts
9. Union
10. Colby
11. Babson
12. Williams
13. Cortland
14. Trinity
15. William Smith
16. St. John Fisher
17. Stevens
18. Roanoke
19. Washington & Lee
20. Buffalo
Preseason Player of the Year: Kate Robinson, Catholic

US Lacrosse WDIA

1. Virginia Tech Club
2. UC Santa Barbara
3. Colorado
4. Santa Clara
5. Michigan
6. Florida Club
7. Cal Poly
8. Colorado State
9. Lindenwood
10. UCLA
11. Georgia
12. Texas
13. Central Florida
14. UC-Davis Club
15. Michigan State
16. BYU
17. Maryland Club
18. Minnesota
19. Pittsburgh
20t. Boston College Club
20t. Virginia Club
Preseason Player of the Year: Krista Shaw, Santa Clara

MCLA Division I

1. Michigan
2. BYU
3. Chapman
4. Simon Fraser
5. Arizona State
6. Florida State
7. Minnesota-Duluth
8. Colorado
9. Colorado State
10. Sonoma State
11. UC Santa Barbara
12. Virginia Tech
13. Boston College
14. Cal Poly
15. Lindenwood
16. Oregon
17. Florida
18. Wisconsin
19. Michigan State
20. Texas
Preseason Player of the Year: Elliot Grow, BYU

MCLA Division II

1. St. Thomas
2. Dayton
3. Davenport
4. Grand Valley State
5. St. John’s
6. Emory
7. Western Oregon
8. Northern Colorado
9. Elon
10. Westminster
11. Missouri State
12. Cal State Fullerton
13. Stonehill
14. Southern Oregon
15. Hope
16. Wheaton
17. Briarcliffe
18. Metro State
19. Creighton
20. Whitman
Preseason Player of the Year: Joe Costello, St. Thomas


1. Onondaga
2. Nassau
3. Essex
4. Anne Arundel
5. Monroe
6. Suffolk
7. Hudson Valley
8. Herkimer
9. Catonsville
10. Howard
Preseason Player of the Year: Emmett Printup, Onondaga


1. Onondaga
2. Monroe
3. Catonsville
4. Nassau
5. Anne Arundel
6. Jefferson
7. Herkimer
8. Harford
9. Broome
10. Erie
Preseason Player of the Year: Lauren Welch, Onondaga

Lacrosse Magazine
Lacrosse Magazine is a monthly publication of US Lacrosse, the national governing body of the sport of lacrosse. The magazine has an annual readership of 3.6 million and is distributed nationally to the membership of US Lacrosse. For more information on Lacrosse Magazine visit Join US Lacrosse on or before Dec. 30 to start a subscription with the February issue.

US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. US Lacrosse has more than 300,000 members in 62 regional chapters around the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse strives to provide programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. To learn more about US Lacrosse, please visit

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines