High School Boys

July 17, 2009

The upcoming August issue of Lacrosse Magazine includes LM's annual season-end, top-25 high school boys' and girls' lacrosse rankings. Check back to laxmagazine.com over the next week as we count down to No. 1.

Don't get the mag? Join US Lacrosse and it's 300,000-plus members today to start your subscription.

H.S. Boys' Rankings Countdown: Nos. 16-20

by Paul Ohanian | Lacrosse Magazine Online Staff

2009 Lacrosse Magazine High School Rankings

Boys: 1-5 | 6-10 | 11-15 | 16-20 | 20-25
Girls: 1-5 | 6-10 | 11-15 | 16-20 | 20-25

Despite a loss to Summit in the Tournament of Champions final, Delbarton (N.J.) comes in at No. 19 in LM's annual season-end high school boys' lacrosse rankings, backed by wins over Fairfield Prep, Georgetown Prep and twice over Mountain Lakes.

20. Ridgefield (Ct.)

The Tigers opened the season with 10 straight wins before a one-goal setback against Lawrenceville. They then reeled off another 10-game streak before losing to Fairfield Prep in the FCIAC semifinals. First-year coach Roy Colsey's hard-hitting defense limited 13 opponents to five goals or fewer, while Matt White (Virginia) and Colin Scott (Denver) led the offense.

19. Delbarton (N.J.)

To some degree, it was business as usual for the Green Wave this spring as they captured another New Jersey Non-Public Group A championship. In addition, Delbarton posted intersectional wins over Fairfield Prep and Georgetown Prep, and beat archrival Mountain Lakes twice. Other than its losses to New York's St. Anthony's and Chaminade, Delbarton (19-3) lost its only in-state game to Summit in the Tournament of Champions final.

18. Hereford (Md.)

The Bulls won their second straight Maryland 3A-2A title and fifth overall while finishing 19-1 overall. Senior Nick Pompa paced Hereford with four goals in the title game. Hereford, under the guidance of first-year coach Brian King, enjoyed one of the nation's longest winning streaks by closing the season with 16 straight victories following an early three-goal loss to Towson.

17. Deerfield (Mass.)

At least this time, they had to work overtime. Deerfield (15-1) secured at least a share of the Western New England Lacrosse League championship for the seventh time in eight years with a 9-8 overtime win over Lawrenceville, concluding another dominating season for the Big Green. Coach Chip Davis' program finished with an astounding 145-13 record in this decade.

16. Salisbury School (Ct.)

It was a special year for Salisbury, which shared the Western New England Lacrosse League championship. The Crimson Knights (13-1) won their final 12 games of the season, and handed league co-champion Deerfield its only loss of the season. A deep roster features at least 15 players who will move to the next level, includingWill Casertano (Villanova) and Cameron Flint (Denver).

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines