High School Boys

June 20, 2012

High School Boys' Season Rewind: Mid-Atlantic (June 20)

by Chris Goldberg | LaxMagazine.com

Top 10

1. Calvert Hall (Md.), 16-2
2. Gonzaga (D.C.), 20-1
3. Bridgewater-Raritan (N.J.), 21-0
4. Haverford School (Pa.), 21-2
5. Conestoga (Pa.), 23-3
6. Episcopal Academy (Pa.), 18-5
7. Loyola Blakefield (Md.), 16-4
8. Gilman (Md.), 12-4
9. Landon (Md.), 13-6
10. La Salle College (Pa.), 20-5

Player of the Year

Patrick Kelly, Calvert Hall (Md.)

Kelly, a senior attackman, led Calvert Hall to its first Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association "A" Conference championship since 2003. He collected 44 goals, 41 assists and 57 groundballs — amazing numbers considering he played only parts of some games in an 18-game season.

He was named the C. Markland Kelly Award winner as Maryland's top high school boys' lacrosse player.

"Patrick was a complete player," Calvert Hall coach Bryan Kelly said. "He was a phenomenal feeder, a great dodger and finisher and the quarterback of the team."

Kelly will play at North Carolina next year.

Spotlight on...

Conestoga (Pa.) won its third straight Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association championship by downing La Salle College (Pa.), 10-7. Tyler Brooke had four goals, Bradlee Lord contributed two goals and four assists, while Robbie Zonino was brilliant as the second-half goalie as the Pioneers (23-3) improved their record to a remarkable 96-8 over the past four years.

Conestoga has reached the PIAA title game all four years it has been played. The Pioneers fell to La Salle, 7-3, in the 2009 finals and then bested the Explorers, 10-6, in 2010. Last year they defeated St. Joseph's Prep (Pa.), 13-4, in the title game.

"Our coaches told us don't worry about the pressure and to just have enthusiasm and take advantage of the opportunity," senior long-stick midfielder Miles Thomas said. "That's what we did."

Conestoga fell behind 2-0 but then outscored La Salle 7-2 over the next three periods. Zonino, a junior, was sensational in the third period with five saves.

"I'm so overcome with emotion; I don't know how to feel," senior defenseman Jamie Ikeda said. "I am so excited, but at the same time I want to cry because it's over. We did it as a team."

La Salle led 3-1 after Matt Rambo (1g, 3a) scored early in the second quarter. But Connor Frisina (2g) made it 3-2 and Brooke scored twice in a row to give his team the lead for the first time.

Adam Schaal tied the game with 1:46 to play, but Jake Scott gave the Pioneers a 5-4 halftime edge on a rebound with six seconds left in the second period.

Then in the third quarter, Zonino began making big save after big save as the regular rotation goalie for Brody Shea, who also was solid with five saves. Brooke scored from Lord to make it 6-4 and after Adam Stefanowicz drew the Explorers within 6-5, Lord scored off a Jordan Klunder assist and Frisina made it 8-5.

Conestoga's defense — seniors Ikeda and Zach Parro and junior Carson Scott and longpoles Thomas and Nick Prestipino — was key in holding down a La Salle attack that had been dominating in the state playoffs. Thomas, as he has all year, caused several key turnovers that led to fastbreak goals.

The Pioneers won their final 12 games after a disappointing loss to Haverford School (Pa.) at the Katie Samson Festival. They graduate 21 seniors. The seven goals they allowed in the title game was the most they yielded in that winning streak.

"We try to block out [the pressure to repeat] out as much as we can," Frisina said. "If we work as a team we can accomplish a lot. And that's what we did today."

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines