High School Girls

May 27, 2009

High School Notebook: Oregon City Gets Its Title

by Jeff Seidel | Special to Lacrosse Magazine Online

The Oregon City girls' lacrosse team finally got its state title.

The Pioneers completed a nearly perfect season with an impressive 23-7 victory over Lake Oswego in the Oregon Girls Lacrosse Association state title game last Thursday, according to WestSideLax.com.

Oregon City finished the season with a 19-1 record, its only loss coming to an out-of-state opponent earlier this spring.

Natalie Harrington had four goals and three assists, and Kaitlyn Harper added three goals and four assists to pace the Pioneers.

"We just pulled it together and realized this was the state championship game," Harrington told the Web site. "This was it. We've worked so hard for so many years to achieve this."

Harrington also was named the game's most valuable player.

Oregon City beat Lake Oswego by the scores of 15-5 and 19-12 earlier this season, so the third time was just as charming.

Piling up the Numbers

A calculator might have been helpful to some fans at the Century-Patterson Mill Class 2A-1A girls state title game in Maryland last week.

That's because Century got big nights from Katie Schwarzmann and Claire Brady en route to a 25-9 rout of Patterson Mill in the championship game at UMBC.

Schwarzmann posted nine goals and three assists to lead the Knights to their fourth state title and pushed her over 300 goals for her career and past 100 this season. Brady added four goals and seven assists on her own.

Schwarzmann's nine goals and the seven assists from Brady both set state records. In addition, the 12 points from Schwarzmann tied a mark for most points in a game.

The 25 goals that Century (15-1) scored also set a record for any class.

Patterson Mill finished the season with a 12-6 record, and its trip to the state finals was even more impressive considering this was just their first year in varsity competition.

Massachusetts Playoffs

Lacrosse playoffs are set to begin in the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Assocation.

For the boys, the opening round is scheduled to start this week on various days. The tournament will work its way through the next two weeks before the championship game.

That is scheduled to take place on June 12 or 14 at Foley Stadium in Worcester. The schedule could be changed slightly if another preliminary game is needed.

For the girls, the first round started this week. The state Division II final is projected to be June 9 or 10 at a neutral site. The Division I championship is supposed to take place June 12 or 14 at Foley Stadium.

South Carolina Lacrosse Awards

The South Carolina Lacrosse League has released a list of its 2009 awards. Here's a look at all who received honors.

Attackman of the Year: Nick Roberts - Hilton Head
Midfielder of the Year: Maxx Aiken - Camden Military
Defenseman of the Year: Justin Lane - Fort Mill
Goalie of the Year: John Perucci - Socastee
Player of the Year: Maxx Aiken - Camden Military
Official of the Year: George Scouten
Coach of the Year: Matt Fox - Socastee
Asst. Coach of the Year: Anthony Quiles - Riverside
Man of the Year: George Scouten

Attack Player of the Year: Kelsey Thurston - Blythewood
Midfield Player of the Year: Nikkie Bruno - Hilton Head
Defense Player of the Year: Kristin Kimmerling - Blythewood
Goalie of the Year: Von McKenzie - Woodmont
Player of the Year: Elizabeth Perry - Greenville
Official of the Year: Sue Gale
Coach of the Year: Molly Miller - Greenville
Asst. Coach of the Year: Kirk Thurston - Blythewood
Woman of the Year: Meg Hendy - Hilton Head

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines