High School Girls

May 29, 2011

Baltimore Reigns Supreme at USL WDNT

by Brian Logue | Tournament Central

STONY BROOK, N.Y. – The 2011 US Lacrosse Women’s Division National Tournament, presented by deBeer and the Heather Leigh Albert Foundation, featured 165 competitive games tightly packed in a span of just 31 hours, so it was only natural that it came down to the wire. A last-second shot went wide for Baltimore Metro 2, allowing Baltimore Metro 1 to escape with a 10-9 victory in the championship game of the Onondaga flight of the Schoolgirls Division.

Baltimore Metro 1 won the Val Walchak Trophy for winning the Schoolgirls Division title, but it wasn’t easy. After scoring two straight goals to open the game, Baltimore Metro 2 never stretched its lead to more than that margin. It was tied 6-6 at the half, and Baltimore Metro 2 answered every second-half goal by Baltimore Metro 1 until Kellie Boyd scored on a free position shot with 4:50 remaining in the game to give Baltimore Metro 1 its final 10-9 cushion.

Boyd had three goals and an assist to lead Baltimore Metro 1 and Corinne Etchison also added three goals. Caroline Federico made four second half saves, including two in the final five minutes, while allowing just three goals to help Baltimore Metro 1. Haley Bordner led Baltimore Metro 2 with five goals.

Following the championship game, Long Island Metro 1’s Taylor Ranftle, a junior at Hauppauge High School, received the Heather Leigh Albert Award as the outstanding player in the Schoolgirls’ Division. Ranftle became the first New York player to win the award since it was established in 1994 and received the award from the 2009 and 2010 winner, Team USA U19 captain Taylor Trimble. Ranftle was one of 10 finalists for the award. The others were: Maddie Blakeman (South Florida), Erica Bodt (Baltimore Metro 1), Corinne Etchison (Baltimore Metro 1), Sydney Holman (North Carolina), Halle Majorana (Long Island 1), Michele Phillips (D.C. Metro 1), Carly Reed (D.C. Metro 1), Natalie Schmidt (Philly 1) and Mackenzie Smith (South Florida).

Also honored on Sunday were a pair of players competing in the Stars & Stripes Division, the first round of tryouts for the 2011-12 U.S. women’s national team. Regina Oliver, a member of the 2009 U.S. gold-medal winning World Cup team, received the Beth Allen Award, which is presented by the U.S. team coaching staff. Grace Golden, a senior at William & Mary, received the Aimee Willard Award as the top collegiate player at the event.

Schoolgirls Division Champions
Onondaga: Baltimore Metro 1 d. Baltimore Metro 2, 10-9
Seneca: Long Island 3 d. D.C. Metro 2, 12-10
Oneida: Baltimore Metro 3 d. Hudson Valley, 8-7
Tuscarora: Colorado d. Orlando/Gulf Coast 1, 8-6
Mohawk: Lower New England 4 d. Nor Cal 1, 12-10
Cayuga: Central Pennsylvania d. North Carolina, 14-8
Iroquois: New Hampshire/Vermont 2 d. Utah/Idaho, 14-6

In the Seniors Only Division, the Orange team made up of players from New York beat the Pennsylvania-based Royal team 10-9 in overtime.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines