High School Girls

May 25, 2012

US Lacrosse National Tournament Set to Begin

by Brian Logue | LaxMagazine.com | Tournament Central

Stony Brook, N.Y., will be the center of the women’s lacrosse universe once again this Memorial Day Weekend. Stony Brook University will host the NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship beginning on Friday and on Saturday and Sunday, the US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament, presented by Harrow Sports and the HLA Foundation, takes place at the Three Village Soccer Club on the Stony Brook campus.

The US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament dates to 1933 and has evolved into one of the most significant recruiting events in the country. More than 1,200 high school  underclassmen, representing 62 teams from 32 states, will take part in the Schoolgirls’ Division of the tournament. As of May 22, coaches representing 189 colleges had registered to attend the event, which features seven flights within the Schoolgirls Division.

Two other groups of players will also be competing this weekend, highlighted by a total of 143 players competing in the Stars & Stripes Division. The Stars & Stripes Division serves as the first round of tryouts for the 2012-14 U.S. Women’s National Team. Players will be attempting to the second round of tryouts, which will be held July 27-29 at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County. This year’s tryout has extra emphasis as it will serve as the beginning of the selection for the 2013 U.S. World Cup team.

The final group of players competing in the US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament this weekend is in the Seniors Only Division. Four teams featuring high school seniors from around the country will compete in this division. All told, roughly 1,400 players will compete in the event.

Games begin at 8 a.m., on Saturday, May 26 and the tournament concludes with the championship games in several Schoolsgirls’ Division flights at 2 p.m., on Sunday, May 27. Immediately following the tournament, the Heather Leigh Albert Award will be presented to the outstanding player in the Schoolgirls’ Division. This prestigious award dates to 1994 and has been presented to a host of outstanding players, including eventual U.S. World Cup team members Lauren Aumiller and Katie Chrest.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines