High School Girls

May 30, 2012

Midwest Girls' Regional Report (May 30)

by Teddy Cahill | LaxMagazine.com

Top Performers

Leeanne Hurster, John Burroughs (Mo.)
Hurster scored seven goals and added two assists in John Burroughs' 15-5 state championship game victory against MICDS (Mo.). Her first goal in the state championship game gave the Bombers a 3-2 lead, which they never relinquished. Hurster, a junior midfielder, scored 49 goals and had 34 assists this season.

Elizabeth Wittenborg, Bloomington Jefferson (Minn.)
Wittenborg scored 12 goals and added seven assists in Bloomington Jefforson's two victories to open the state tournament. She also collected 12 ground balls and three draw controls. Wittenborg, a senior attacker, was named all state by the coaches association.

Morgan Fee, New Albany (Ohio)
Fee scored six goals in New Albany's 18-3 victory against Indian Hill (Ohio) to reach the Division II final four. Fee, a junior midfielder, is committed to Ohio State.

Games to Watch

Illinois State Tournament Championship Game – June 1, 7 p.m. at Northwestern
It's been all chalk in Illinois, as the top-four seeds will play in the state semifinals Wednesday evening. Victories by Loyola Academy (Ill.) and New Trier (Ill.) would set up a rematch of the top two teams in the Midwest with the state title on the line. Loyola won the first meeting 11-10 on April 27.

Ohio Division I State Tournament Championship Game – June 2, 3:30 p.m. at Mason High
Ohio's final four teams are set and they're exactly who was favored back in January to still be playing in June. The first semifinal will pit two-time defending champion Medina (Ohio) against Sycamore (Ohio) on Friday, while Upper Arlington (Ohio) will meet Cleveland Heights (Ohio) in the nightcap. The winners will meet Saturday afternoon in what is sure to be a great game regardless of who wins in the semifinals.

Minnesota State Tournament Championship Game – June 5 at Chanhassen High
There's still a long way to go before we know who will play in Minnesota's championship game, but a rematch of the last three state championship games seems likely. Blake School (Minn.) and Eden Prairie (Minn.) have met for the state title each of the last three years, with Blake winning the last two. They're the top two teams in the state again this year, but Eden Prairie won the regular season meeting 14-8 on May 18.

1. Loyola Academy (Ill.), 20-3
The Ramblers are the top seed in the Illinois state tournament and easily won their first three games to reach Wednesday's semifinals. Loyola is averaging 19 goals per game in the state tournament. Should Loyola beat Hinsdale Central (Ill.) — which it dispatched 16-7 in the regular season — the Ramblers would play for their fourth straight state title Friday night.

2. New Trier (Ill.), 22-2
The Trevians have rolled into the state semifinals in Illinois, winning their first three games of the tournament by an average of 16.67 goals. A potential rematch with Loyola looms Friday if New Trier can beat Lake Forest (Ill.) for the second time this season. The Trevians won the first meeting 13-8.

3. Eden Prairie (Minn.), 14-0
The Eagles finished a 13-0 regular season with a 14-8 victory against rival Blake School (Minn.). Eden Prairie started the state tournament with a 20-2 victory against Maple Grove (Minn.) and could be headed to a rematch with Blake in the state title game. The Eagles are looking for their first state championship since 2009.

4. Upper Arlington (Ohio), 16-3
The Golden Bears rolled through their first three state tournament games to reach the final four for the fifth year in a row. Upper Arlington meets Cleveland Heights (Ohio) in the semifinals. Cleveland Heights is the only team from Ohio to beat Upper Arlington this year.

5. Blake School (Minn.), 12-2
Blake lost to Eden Prairie (Minn.) for the first time since 2010 in the regular season finale. In the state tournament, however, the Bears got off to a good start in their defense of their back-to-back state championships. Blake opened the tournament with an 18-6 victory against Academy of Holy Angels (Minn.).

6. Sycamore (Ohio), 13-2-1
The Aviators rebounded from a loss to Upper Arlington (Ohio) in their regular-season finale to win three games in the state tournament and reach the final four. Sycamore will face Medina (Ohio), the two-time defending state champion, in Friday's semifinal.

7. New Albany (Ohio), 15-3
The Eagles scored 18 goals in each of their first three wins in Ohio's Division II state tournament. This is the Eagles first year in Division II since 2009, when they won the state title. New Albany will face the same opponent, Chagrin Falls (Ohio), in the semifinals as they did in 2009 and could play the same team, Hathaway Brown (Ohio), in the championship game.

8. East Grand Rapids (Mich.), 24-0
The Pioneers completed a 23-0 regular season with a 22-2 victory against Williamston-Haslett (Mich.). The Pioneers are looking for their first-ever state championship and won their first game in the Division II state tournament by forfeit. If East Grand Rapids can beat Mattawan (Mich.) on Wednesday, a third game against Grand Rapids Catholic Central (Mich.), the defending state champions, could await Saturday.

9. Medina (Ohio), 14-3
The Bees breezed through the first three games of the state tournament to reach the final four for the fourth straight year. Medina in the semifinals will play Sycamore (Ohio), which it beat 8-7 in overtime on April 1. The Bees are trying this weekend to win their third straight state championship.

10. Grand Rapids Catholic Central (Mich.), 19-4
The Cougars opened their state championship defense with a 17-6 victory against Dewitt (Mich.). If Catholic Central can beat Caledonia (Mich.) for a second time this season tonight, it could set up a third game with East Grand Rapids (Mich.) on Saturday. Two of the Cougars four losses came against the Pioneers this season.

News and Notes

John Burroughs (Mo.) won its second straight state championship, defeating Mary Institute and St. Louis Country Day School 15-5 on May 19. The Bombers finished the season 17-2, their only losses coming to Medina (Ohio) and Thomas Worthington (Ohio) in the Hannigan-Galipault Girls Lacrosse Tournament...Eden Prairie nearly made a clean sweep of the Minnesota Girls Lacrosse Coaches Association's awards. Midfielder Christine Easton was named Player of the Year, coach Judy Baxter shared Coach of the Year honors with Cretin-Derham Hall's Andrew Lecker and assistant coach Ana Bowlsby was named Assistant Coach of the Year...The rankings remained unchanged this week, though Cleveland Heights' run to the final four in Ohio pushed the Tigers back into consideration for the top 10.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines