High School Girls

May 30, 2012

West Girls' Regional Report (May 30)

by Todd Karpovich | LaxMagazine.com

Top Performers

Erin Todd, Air Academy (Colo.)
Todd led Air Academy to its second title in four years by scoring six goals in a 14-8 victory over top-seeded Cherry Creek (Colo.). Todd finished with 79 goals in 21 games this season and will play collegiately at Regis University.

Caroline Carlson, Coronado (Calif.)
The junior scored four goals and had two assists to lead the Islanders to their second consecutive San Diego Section Division II championship with a 15-3 victory over Canyon Crest (Calif.). Carlson has verbally committed to Fresno State.

Michaela Michael, Menlo School (Calif.)
Michael had seven goals and an assist to lead Menlo to its fourth consecutive West Bay Athletic League title with a 21-6 victory over Burlingame (Calif.). Michael is school's all-time leading scorer with more than 400 career points. She will attend USC.

1. La Costa Canyon (Calif.), 21-1
The Mavericks ran away from Poway (Calif.), 11-6, to win their fifth San Diego Section Division I championship. Bridget Grubb and Kiki Gibson each scored four goals for La Costa Canyon, whose only loss was to Coronado (Calif.), 10-5, on March 13. The Mavericks avenged that loss by beating the Islanders, 8-7, and finished the season with a 20-game winning streak.

2. Air Academy (Colo.), 19-2
The third-seeded Kadets upset top-seeded Cherry Creek (Colo.), 14-8 to win the Colorado girls lacrosse state championship for the second time in four years. Erin Todd led the way with six goals, and finished the season with 79.

3. Coronado (Calif.), 19-2
The top-seeded Islanders beat Canyon Crest (Calif.), 15-3, for their second consecutive San Diego Section Division II championship. Coronado's Caroline Carlson led all scorers with four goals and two assists.

4. Carondelet (Calif.), 21-2
The Cougars won the NCS Division I championship with a 21-12 victory over Amador Valley (Calif.). Cali Castagnola led Carondelet with four goals, including three in a three-minute span in the first half, and added two assists.

5. Cherry Creek (Colo.), 17-2
The two-time defending champions fell short with a 14-8 loss to Air Academy (Colo.) in the state finals. Anya Gersoff finished with three goals and three assists and Bryn Bandt-Law also scored three goals. Cherry Creek has appeared in every championship game since the sport was sanctioned in 1998.

6. Kent Denver (Colo.), 15-3
The Sun Devils had their season end in the state semifinals with a heart-breaking 13-12 loss to eventual champion Air Academy (Colo.). It was the second consecutive year Kent Denver lost to Air Academy by a goal in the semifinals. Lucy Mower and Catherine Ellisled led the Sun Devils with three goals each.

7. Los Alamitos (Calif.), 18-2
The Griffins beat Palos Verdes (Calif.), 19-9, to capture their fourth consecutive US Lacrosse Southern Section championship. Keaton Otake scored four goals, while Jenny Lange added three.

8. Centaurus (Colo.), 13-5
The Warriors lost to Cherry Creek (Colo.) in the state semifinals for the second consecutive season. Emma Lazaroff had six goals and two assists in the 25-15 loss and she finished with 137 on the season.

9. Menlo School (Calif.), 18-4
The Knights extended their winning streak to 13 games and won their fourth consecutive West Bay Athletic League title with a 21-6 victory over Burlingame (Calif.). Michaela Michael led all scorers with seven goals and one assist. She finished her career as the school's all-time leading scorer with more than 400 career points.

10. Marin Catholic (Calif.) 22-3
The Wildcats won the NCS Division II title with a 16-10 victory over Miramonte (Calif.) after falling short in the championship last season. Tory Salmon led Marin Catholic with five goals and K.C. Hill finished with four goals and three assists.

News and Notes

La Costa Canyon (Calif.) coach Casey Rector knows a lot of about championships. She won a championship as player for the Mavericks seven years ago. Now as the head coach, La Costa Canyon won its fifth title as the top seed in the San Diego Section Division I tournament. La Costa Canyon cruised to an 11-6 victory over Poway (Calif.). Bridget Grubb and Kiki Gibson each scored four goals for the Mavericks. La Costa Canyon trailed by two goals midway through the first half, but after tying the game, it never trailed again. Goaie Paige Soenksen came up big with 10 saves. La Costa Canyon finished the season with a 20-game winning streak.

Bainbridge (Wash.) won its ninth Washington Lacrosse Girls State Championship with a 13-11 defeat of Lake Sammamish (Wash.). The Spartans won 10 consecutive games to close out the season and advance to the playoffs with a 10-1-1 record. Bainbridge trailed 8-6 early in the second half before rallying. "We couldn't connect in the first," said Spartan midfielder Olivia Smith, who finished with four goals. "We knew exactly what they were doing, but we just couldn't get it." Junior Kelsey Mackin's goal at 21:58 stared the comeback set and the Spartans scored six of the next seven goals including Smith's short-handed goal with 8:11 remaining to put the Spartans for a 12-9 lead. "Once someone puts the ball in the goal we have momentum," Smith said. "We're a slow-starting team. But once we get in that groove we can make things happen." Theo Fehsenfeld also had three goals and two assists for Bainbridge and junior goalkeeper Madeline Stevenson had 10 saves. Allison Clements led Lake Sammamish with four goals goalie Grace Hamilton had six saves.

Coronado (Calif.) continued its tear through the CIF Division II state playoffs and defended its title by running away with a 15-3 victory over Canyon Crest (Calif.) in the title game. Erica Keamy led the Islanders with five goals, while Caroline Carlson and Niki Kruger each scored four goals. "We are a young team, however the girls play so well together," coach Jessica Battle said. "We focus on working cohesively as a team verses individual skills. Going into playoffs, we knew we just needed to play our game. The girls didn't get complacent and we worked as one unit. It was a great season and am looking forward to almost all of them returning next year."

Anya Gersoff was named the Player of the Year for Colorado's powerful Centennial Conference. Gersoff is one of the most prolific scorers in the nation and is headed to Princeton to play both lacrosse and field hockey. Kipp Meeks, of Cherokee Trail (Colo.), was named the Coach of the Year. The Cougars had one of the their best seasons in school history, finishing 10-6 and advancing to the quarterfinals.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines