High School Girls

June 13, 2012

High School Girls' Season Rewind: West Region (June 13)

by Todd Karpovich | LaxMagazine.com

Top 10

1. La Costa Canyon (Calif.), 21-1
2. Air Academy (Colo.), 19-2
3. Coronado (Calif.), 19-2
4. Carondelet (Calif.), 21-2
5. Cherry Creek (Colo.), 17-2
6. Kent Denver (Colo.), 15-3
7. Los Alamitos (Calif.), 18-2
8. Centaurus (Colo.), 13-5
9. Menlo School (Calif.), 18-4
10. Marin Catholic (Calif.), 22-3

Player of the Year

Emma Lazaroff, Centaurus (Colo.)

Lazaroff established herself as one of the most dominant players in West Coast lacrosse history.

Lazaroff broke the single-season scoring record with 143 goals, according to the National Federation of State High School Associations. In addition to being a three-time US Lacrosse All-American, she was an Under Armour All-American, and ranks fourth all-time in goals scored.

"Emma Lazaroff is by far the most talented, dedicated and committed player I have ever coached," Centaurus coach Genny O'Donnell Horning said. "She works harder than any athlete I know and the results of her efforts are so evident on the field. I confidently give the credit to Emma for the shift in the skill-level, player commitment and overall growth in the Warrior girls' lacrosse program. Her influence has changed the culture within our program and put us among the elite teams in the state."

Lazaroff, also Centaurus' team captain and MVP, carries a 4.457 and has committed to play collegiately at Duke.

Spotlight On...

Bainbridge Island (Wash.) has gotten off to a few slow starts this season, but its confidence never wavered, setting the stage for exciting victories.

So, when the Spartans trailed Lake Sammamish (Wash.) by two goals in the state championship game, they simply stayed focused on making a run. A goal by Kelsey Mackin early in the second half started the comeback as the Spartans scored six of the next seven goals for a 13-11 victory. It was Bainbridge Island's second straight title and ninth overall.

After a season-opening one-goal loss to Issaquah (Wash.) and a tie against Mercer Island (Wash.), the Spartans reeled off 14 consecutive victories.

In the championship game, senior midfielder Olivia Smith led the way with four goals and one assist, while Theo Fehsenfeld finished with three goals, two assists and two draw controls. Grace Deery-Schmitt also had two goals, three ground balls and four draw controls, in addition to two caused turnovers. Kelsey Mackin finished with two goals and three draw controls.

Bainbridge fell behind 7-6 with one second remaining in the first half on a goal by Allison Clements. After Clements scored quickly after intermission, Bainbridge made its run. Mackin's goal at 21:58 sparked the Spartans' rally.

"We couldn't connect in the first," Smith said. "We knew exactly what they were doing, but we just couldn't get it."

Lake Sammamish cut into the lead on goals by sophomore Alexandra Johnson and Amelia Chirichigno. Bainbridge, however, then made another adjustment by keeping the ball on the offensive end for several long stretches to control the game

Bainbridge junior goalkeeper Madeline Stevenson had 10 saves.

The Spartans also won titles in 2011, 2005, 2004, 2002, 2000, 1996, 1995 and 1994.

Worth Noting...

Pinnacle (Ariz.) beat Horizon (Ariz.) 9-7 to win the Division I state championship, capping an undefeated season.

After Pinnacle (14-0) took a 6-2 lead at the half, Horizon scored three consecutive goals to pull within one with just more than two minutes remaining in the game. Pinnacle then dominated possession and put the game away.

"I couldn't be more proud of this group of young women," first-year coach Brianne Ruzek said. "It sounds cliché, but it was a total team effort all season long. Offensively, all of our midfield and attack players contributed in a huge way, and our defense gave up the fewest goals in the league. They showed a lot of heart and grit, especially in the playoffs during clutch moments."

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines