High School Girls

May 24, 2013

US Lacrosse National Tournament returns to Lehigh

by Brian Logue | LaxMagazine.com | Schedule/Scores

A record 66 teams will compete in the Schoolgirls' Division of the US Lacrosse Women's National Tournament. The event returns to Lehigh University for the first time since 2007.

© Lee Weissman

The historic US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament, presented by Harrow Sports and the HLA Foundation, returns to a familiar location – Lehigh University. This is the 80th anniversary of the event, which dates to 1933, and Lehigh was the host of the tournament for seven consecutive years from 2001 to 2007.

A record 66 teams will compete in the Schoolgirls’ Division, up from 62 last year. Additionally, four teams will compete in the Seniors Only Division and the United States and Canadian National Teams will also play an exhibition game. All told, more than 1,400 athletes will compete during the event.

The Schoolgirls’ Division is one of the top recruiting events in the nation and players from 31 states will compete in seven divisions. Lower New England won last year’s championship in the top flight, the Onondaga Division, marking the first time a team from New England had won the Schoolgirls’ title since 1992.

The event begins on Saturday at 8 a.m. with pool play games and Saturday’s action wraps up with the exhibition between the U.S. and Canada at 5 p.m. at Lehigh’s Ulrich Sports Complex. Both teams are preparing for the 2013 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup, which takes place from July 10-20 in Oshawa, Ontario in Canada. The U.S. is the defending world champion while Canada is coming off a third place finish.

Play  continues through Sunday, wrapping up with championship games in the seven Schoolgirls’ Divisions and the Seniors Only Division. At the conclusion of the tournament, the Heather Leigh Albert Award will be presented to the outstanding player in the Schoolgirls’ Division. The award dates to 1994 and has been won by some of the top players in the women’s game, including past U.S. World Cup team members Lauren Aumiller and Katie Chrest. Last year’s winner, Maeve McMahon, will be competing in the Seniors’ Only Division this year.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines