High School Girls

May 25, 2014

Long Island Wins Onondaga Flight at US Lacrosse WNT

by Brian Logue | LaxMagazine.com | Photos

Samantha Giacolone allowed just two second half goals as Long Island 1 defeated Long Island 2 13-8 to win the Onondaga Flight at the US Lacrosse Women's National Tournament.

© Kevin P. Tucker

BEL AIR, Md. – Long Island Metro 1 closed the first half with a flurry and went on to defeat Long Island Metro 2 13-8 in the championship game of the Onondaga division to earn the Val Walchak Trophy at the US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament, presented by Harrow Sports and the HLA Lacrosse Foundationat Cedar Lane Sports Park. The event, featuring 63 regional all-star teams representing 29 states, is one of the premier recruiting events for high school girls’ lacrosse players in the country.

Long Island 2 held a 6-4 lead over Long Island 1 late in the first half, but Long Island 1 scored four goals in the final 2:54 of the half, three of them by Katie Hoeg, a sophomore at Mattituck HS. Hoeg’s last two goals came in the final 19 seconds of the half.

Long Island 1 continued the momentum in the second half, dominating on the draw, and scored the first three goals of the second half to open up an 11-6 lead. Long Island 1 controlled the majority of possession and goalie Samantha Giacolone, a junior at Eastport Southmanor, allowed just two second half goals.

Winning was sweet redemption for Long Island 1’s Sydney Pirreca, a junior at Mount Sinai HS, who led the way with four goals.

“In ninth grade I played on (Long Island 1) and we made it to the finals and lost,” said Pirreca, a Florida commit. “Last year we couldn’t try out because of counties, so it was good coming back and winning finally. The competition here is really good. It’s all the best of the best girls, so playing is a really good experience.”

Sophia Triandafils, a freshman at Shoreham Wading River, and Kasey Mitchell, a junior at Mt. Sinai, led Long Island 2 with two goals each.

Following the game, Baltimore Metro 1 player Olivia Jenner received the Heather Leigh Albert Award as the outstanding player in the Schoolgirls’ Division. This year marked the 20th anniversary since the award was first presented to Beth Potter in 1994. The award’s namesake had been a participant in this tournament as a high school player, but died in 1993 at the age of just 21.

“It’s such a tragic story, but all of this good has come out of it,” said Jenner, who just completed her junior season at McDonogh, the top-ranked team in the Nike/US Lacrosse National High School rankings. “It’s a pretty big deal,  but I wouldn’t have been able to do it without all of my teammates. I was pretty shocked. It’s a big honor to represent the foundation.”

McDonogh's Olivia Jenner received the Heather Leight Albert Award as the outstanding player at the US Lacrosse Women's National Tournament. She's pictured with Gene Albert and Sean Albert.

© Kevin P. Tucker

Jenner is committed to Duke, where she will become that school’s sixth player to have won the Heather Leigh Albert Award. She joins Kristy Dirks (2000), Katie Chrest (2001), Emma Hamm (2006), Amanda Jones (2007) and Taylor Trimble (2009, 2010) on that list.

A total of seven divisional champions were crowned. Brief rundowns of the other championships follow:

In the Seneca division championship, Upstate New York dominated DC Metro 2, winning the final by a score of 15-3. Upstate NY scored the first six goals of the game, including three in the opening five minutes, and DC Metro never got closer than four the rest of the way. Upstate had 10 different goal scorers, led Taylor Gebhardt, a junior at Baldwinsville (N.Y.) HS, with three goals.

In the Oneida division championship, Illinois/Wisconsin held Western New York/Greater Rochester 1 scoreless for the final 15 plus minutes of the game to win 12-7. Anna Santulli, a freshman at Hinsdale Central (Ill.) HS, led IL/WI with four goals while Taylor Vanthof, a junior at Livonia (N.Y.) HS, led WNY with four goals.

In the Tuscarora division championship, Nor Cal held state rival San Diego to a single second half goal to post an 8-4 victory. Catriona Barry, a freshman at St. Ignatius Prep, an d Jacquelyn Gilbert, a junior at Amidor Valley HS, each had three goals for Nor Cal while Kara Gibson, a sophomore at La Costa Canyon HS, scored all four of San Diego’s goals.

In the Mohawk division championship, Virginia completed its undefeated tournament with a 13-7 win over Central Pennsylvania. Caroline Digiacomo, a sophomore at St. Anne’s Belfield, and Katherine Golladay, a junior at the Collegiate School, each had three goals for Virginia. Kelly Daggett, a junior at Lancaster Catholic, led Central Pennsylvania with two goals.

In the Cayuga division championship, Oregon got balanced scoring to defeat Nor Cal 2 by a 12-5 score. Allison Wurscher (Tigard HS), Andrea Macalalad (Jesuit HS), Caroline Boitano (Jesuit HS), Emilie Ogdenfung (Oregon Episcopal) and Lauren Delancellotti (Lakeridge) all had two goals for Oregon. Amanda Outcalt, a sophomore at Monte Vista HS, led Nor Cal with two goals.

In the Iroquois division championship, Gulf Coast (Fla.) trailed 7-5 early in the second half, but rallied to beat Tennessee 10-9. Olivia Ferrucci, a junior at Barron Collier HS, scored back-to-back goals and gave Gulf Coast an 8-7 lead with 18:40 left in the game and Tennessee was unable to get even again. Ferrucci led Gulf Coast with three goals. Mackenzie Minnick, a junior at Ensworth HS, led Tennessee with three goals.

Championship Game Scores
Onondaga: Long Island Metro 1 d. Long Island Metro 2, 13-8
Seneca: Upstate NY d. DC Metro 2, 15-3
Oneida: Illinois/Wisconsin d. Western New York/Greater Rochester 1, 12-7
Tuscarora:  Nor Cal 1 d. San Diego, 8-4
Mohawk: Virginia d. Central Pennsylvania, 13-7
Cayuga: Oregon d. Nor Cal 2, 12-5
Iroquois: Gulf Coast (Fla.) d. Tennessee, 10-9

Heather Leigh Albert Award Finalists
Charlotte Allard – Lower New England 1 – Notre Dame Academy (Mass.)
Jennifer Giles – Baltimore Metro 1 – Mt. Hebron HS
Olivia Jenner – Baltimore Metro 1 – McDonogh School
Kelly MacAfee – Lower New England 1 – Notre Dame Academy (Mass.)
Avery Murphy – Philly 1 – Archbishop Carroll
Nikki Ortega – Long Island Metro 1 – Centereach/Middle Country
Sydney Pirreca – Long Island Metro 1 – Mount Sinai HS
Emily Santana – Philly 1 – Springfield HS
Charlotte Sofield – DC Metro 1 – Bishop Ireton HS
Francesca Whitehurst – Baltimore Metro 1 – Roland Park Country School

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines