International Men

February 7, 2014

Record 38 Nations Participating in 2014 FIL Champs

from Press Release

Stalwart nations like Japan return, while many first-timers will make their way to Denver this July.

BALTIMORE — A record 38 nations have been confirmed to compete in the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship, which will be held July 10-19 at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo., the ""Official Competition City" for the 10-day event, which is expected to attract as many as 150,000 visitors.

The 38-team field is headlined by the defending champion, the United States, and will include nine first-time entrants. The nations competing for the first time in an FIL men's world championship will be Belgium, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Israel, Russia, Thailand, Turkey and Uganda. Uganda will be the first team from Africa to compete in an FIL world championship.

The previous record for number of teams competing in an FIL world championship was 29, set at the 2010 FIL men's world championship in Manchester, England. The United States defeated Canada 12-10 in the gold medal game that year, avenging a loss to the Canadians from the 2006 world championship. The last time this quadrennial event was held in the United States was 1998, when 11 nations competed in Baltimore with the host U.S. edging Canada 15-14 in overtime.

Full-event ticket packages to the world championship, which include admission to more than 125 games over 10 days, along with access to the International Village and Vendor Village, are now on sale at

In addition to the world championship, registration is currently open for the boys' youth and men's masters' World Festivals that will be held in conjunction with the event at Dick's Sporting Goods Park. More than 125 teams have already signed up for the World Festivals. Visit for more information about age groups and registering a team.

The final schedule for the championship will be announced in early March. Here are the competing nations:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • Canada
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czech Republic
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Iroquois Nationals
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Latvia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Scotland
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • United States
  • Wales

World Championship History

Year        Location                           Teams       Champion                      Runner-Up

1967       Toronto, Canada               4                 United States                 Australia

1974       Melbourne, Australia       4                 United States                 Australia

1978       Manchester, England       4                 Canada                           United States

1982       Baltimore                           4                 United States                 Australia

1986       Toronto, Canada               4                 United States                 Canada

1990       Perth, Australia                 5                 United States                 Canada

1994       Manchester, England       6                 United States                 Australia

1998       Baltimore                           11               United States                 Canada

2002       Perth, Australia                 15               United States                 Canada

2006       London, Canada                21               Canada                           United States

2010       Manchester, England       29               United States                 Canada

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines