International Men

December 19, 2013

Nine First-Timers Among 38 for FIL World Championships

from Press Release

Defending champion Team USA is the host of the 2014 FIL World Championships, which will have nine more than the event in Manchester four years ago. (John Strohsacker)

Reserve Prime Seats by Purchasing Tickets Today

BALTIMORE — Nine first-time entrants will highlight the 38-team field expected for the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse Men's World Championship, which will be hosted by US Lacrosse at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in Denver from July 10-19, 2014.

The 38 teams will be a record for the FIL World Championship, surpassing the mark of 29 set for the 2010 championship in Manchester, England. The last time the U.S. hosted the world championship, in 1998 in Baltimore, there were only 11 nations competing.

The nations expected to compete for the first time are Belgium, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Israel, Russia, Thailand, Turkey and Uganda.

The United States is the defending world champion, having defeated Canada 12-10 in the 2010 championship. Australia defeated Japan 16-9 in the third place game.

Full-event ticket packages to the world championship, which include admission to more than 125 games over 10 days, along with access to the International Village and Vendor Village, are now on sale at

In addition to the world championship, registration is open for the boys' youth and men's masters' World Festivals that will be held in conjunction with the event at Dick's Sporting Goods Park. More than 100 teams have already signed up for the World Festivals. Visit for more information about age groups and registering a team.

Teams have until the end of the year to commit to participate, but the following nations have indicated their intention to participate to the FIL:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • Canada
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czech Republic
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Iroquois Nationals
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Latvia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Scotland
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • United States
  • Wales

World Championship History

Year Location Teams Champion Runner-Up
1967 Toronto, Canada 4 United States Australia
1974 Melborne, Australia 4 United States Australia
1978 Manchester, England 4 Canada United States
1982 Baltimore 4 United States Australia
1986 Toronto, Canada 4 United States Canada
1990 Perth, Australia 5 United States Canada
1994 Manchester, England 6 United States Australia
1998 Baltimore 11 United States Canada
2002 Perth, Australia 15 United States Canada
2006 London, Canada 21 Canada United States
2010 Manchester, England 29 United States Canada

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines