December 9, 2016
Duke’s Myles Jones made NCAA history this year, graduating as the only midfielder with at least 100 career goals and 100 career assists.
Duke’s Myles Jones made NCAA history this year, graduating as the only midfielder with at least 100 career goals and 100 career assists.

Lacrosse at its Best: Milestones staff | Twitter

Taylor Cummings became the first player — male or female — to win the Tewaaraton Award three times. What else went down in 2016? Glad you asked.

Murphy's Law

Stony Brook's Courtney Murphy scored more goals (100) than anyone in NCAA Division I women's lacrosse history. Despite breaking a record that stood for 32 years — Delaware's Karen Emas set the bar with 98 goals in 1984 — Murphy was not a Tewaaraton finalist.


Onondaga Community College's epic winning streak came to an end, as did its reign of NJCAA men's lacrosse titles. The Lazers had won 107 straight games — the longest streak in junior college sports history — before falling at Nassau on March 12. The streak dated back to 2010. Two months later, Genesee defeated Onondaga, the seven-time defending champion, in the NJCAA championship game.

Hartranft's 700th

Six months after he was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, Farmingdale (N.Y.) boys' coach Bob Hartranft became just the third high school coach in history to win 700 games. Hartranft joined Mike Messere and Joe Cuozzo in the 700-win club after the Dalers defeated Carey (N.Y.) 14-3 on April 6. Speaking of legends, Delbarton (N.J.) head coach and U.S. U19 assistant Chuck Reubling reached 500 wins June 1.

Jones 100/100

Duke's Myles Jones graduated as the only midfielder in NCAA history with at least 100 career goals and 100 career assists.

John Grant Jr. made MLL history twice during the Ohio Machine's 22-13 win over the New York Lizards. He broke the single-game scoring record with 10 goals, and in doing so, passed Casey Powell to become the league's all-time points leader. (Pretty Instant)

Wild Night

Ageless John Grant Jr. and peerless Rob Pannell took down three MLL records in one game. Traded midway through the season, Grant, 41, scored a single-game record 10 goals in the Ohio Machine's 22-13 win Aug. 6 at New York. Grant also overtook Casey Powell as MLL's all-time points leader. In the same game, Lizards attackman Rob Pannell surpassed now-teammate Paul Rabil at No. 1 on the single-season scoring charts with 74 points.

Top Drawers

Perhaps aided by recent rules changes, NCAA draw controls records continue to fall. In 2016, Syracuse's Kayla Treanor and Bridgewater State's Lauren Geary set the Division I single-season and Division III career records with 217 and 605, respectively.

The Great Dhane

Hello, Dhane Smith. A 24-year-old forward for the Buffalo Bandits, Smith followed up his breakthrough 2015 season with one for the ages in 2016, crushing the NLL single-season scoring record with 137 points. His 72 goals also set a new NLL mark.

Sleepers to Sweepers

Neither of North Carolina's lacrosse teams was favored to win the NCAA championship. But with both the men and women taking home the hardware, the Chapel Hill laxers accomplished a rare feat. Their Memorial Day weekend haul put UNC alongside Princeton in 1994 as the only schools to win the titles in the same year.

Good Things in Threes

On March 8, Wagner's McMenamin brothers made history. Michael, William and Patrick McMenamin each scored a goal in the Seahawks' 7-6 win over VMI, the first time in NCAA Division I history that three siblings scored in the same game.

On Sept. 10, former Johns Hopkins and two-time Team USA attackman Mike Morrill joined his father, Bill Morrill Jr., and his grandfather Kelso Morrill, in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame — the first family to produce three generations of Hall of Famers.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines