February 19, 2009

It's Official: MLL Team to Toronto

from staff reports

TORONTO -- Confirming multiple reports and rumors, Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced Thursday that it will expand its borders into Canada for the 2009 season and introduce a new Toronto franchise.

This new Toronto team will consist largely of former Rochester Rattlers who won the 2009 MLL championship, including Brodie Merrill, Colin Doyle, John Grant Jr., Gavin Prout and Jeff Zywicki.

A press conference will be held Friday at 3:30 p.m. at the Air Canada Centre and will include the official announcement of this new Toronto MLL franchise along with a team name introduction and a logo unveiling.

MLL Commissioner David Gross, new Toronto team president and general manager Stuart Brown and Merrill are scheduled to address the media.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines