May 28, 2009

MLL Collegiate Draft Recap: Nims Goes No. 1

from staff reports

HOBOKEN, N.J. -- With the first pick in the 2009 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft, the Chicago Machine chose attackman Kenny Nims of Syracuse University.  This playmaker was a USILA All-American Honorable Mention, and had 32 goals and 42 assists to wrap up the 2009 season.

The Denver Outlaws chose midfielder and USILA 2009 Player of the Year Max Seibald of Cornell University.  With 28 goals and 10 assists, Seibald's stats do not do him justice as an impact player.  Seibald is a 2009 finalist for the Tewaaraton Trophy and earned USILA First-Team All-American honors. He is also the first ever player to earn First-Team All-Ivy all four years in a college career.   

Zack Greer, an attacker from Bryant University, went third overall to the Long Island Lizards.  This star player led his team with 42 goals and 26 assists, and led Bryant to a 10-5 season in its first year as a Division I team.  Greer, a three-time All-American, is the NCAA's all-time leader in career goals scored (206 goals in 67 career contests).

With fourth overall pick, the Boston Cannons selected Brandon Corp of Colgate University.  As the seventh leading scorer in the nation for the 2009 season, he finished his senior year with 35 goals and 27 assists.  Corp was three-time Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year and Patriot League Championship MVP.

The Washington Bayhawks chose Danny Glading of the University of Virginia to round out the top five.  This two-time All-ACC and First-Team All-American (2009) had 32 goals and 31 assists in his final season at UVA.  Glading will be joining his brother, Billy Glading, to play for the Bayhawks. 

Defenseman Sid Smith of Syracuse University went sixth overall to the Toronto Nationals.  His tenacious, shut-down defense earned him 2009 First-Team All-American.  

In the first trade of the night, the Cannons gave their first-round, seventh overall pick to the Outlaws in exchange for Denver midfielder Greg Downing.  In the seventh and eighth overall picks, Denver acquired University of North Carolina midfielder Shane Walterhoefer and Syracuse midfielder Dan Hardy.  Walterhoefer made the 2009 All-ACC team and led the ACC in faceoff percentage and ground balls per game.

For the final pick of the first round, the Bayhawks selected midfielder Matt Abbott of Syracuse.  This 2009 Tewaaraton Trophy Nominee led his team in ground balls with 77.

2009 MLL Collegiate Draft

First Round
1. Chicago Machine - Kenny Nims, Syracuse
2. Denver Outlaws - Max Seibald, Cornell
3. Long Island Lizards - Zack Greer, Bryant
4. Boston Cannons - Brandon Corp, Colgate
5. Washington Bayhawks - Danny Glading, Virginia
6. Toronto Nationals - Sid Smith, Syracuse
7. Denver Outlaws (from Boston Cannons) - Shane Walterhoefer, North Carolina
8. Denver Outlaws - Dan Hardy, Syracuse
9. Washington Bayhawks - Matt Abbott, Syracuse

Second Round
10. Chicago Machine - John Glynn, Cornell
11. Washington Bayhawks - PT Ricci, Loyola
12. Long Island Lizards - Mark Kovler, Princeton
13. Toronto Nationals - Doc Schneider, UMass
14. Denver Outlaws - Brian Christopher, Johns Hopkins
15. Toronto Nationals - Brad Ross, Duke
16. Boston Cannons - Jordan Burke, Brown

Third Round
17. Chicago Machine - Ryan Hoff, Notre Dame
18. Washington Bayhawks - Michael Evans, Johns Hopkins
19. Long Island Lizards - Drew Adams, Penn State
20. Boston Cannons - Peet Poillon, UMBC
21. Denver Outlaws - Shane Koppens, Loyola
22. Toronto Nationals - Corey Small, Albany
23. Washington Bayhawks - Jeff Reynolds, Maryland
24. Long Island Lizards - Regis McDermott, Notre Dame
25. Toronto Nationals - Mike Timms, Virginia
26. Washington Bayhawks - Dan Groot, Maryland

Fourth Round
27. Chicago Machine - Steve Bauer, Georgetown
28. Washington Bayhawks - Ben Hunt, North Carolina
29. Long Island Lizards - Anthony Muscarella, Hofstra
30. Boston Cannons - Matt Messina, NYIT
31. Denver Outlaws - Chris O'Dougherty, Rutgers
32. Toronto Nationals - Garrett Billings, Virginia
33. Washington Bayhawks - Ryan McFadyen, Duke
34. Long Island Lizards - Keith Galante, Molloy
35. Denver Outlaws - Alex Hopmann, UMBC
36. Denver Outlaws - Jeremy Blevins, UMBC

Fifth Round
37. Chicago Machine - Tommy Kehoe, Gettysburg
38. Washington Bayhawks - Kylor Berkman, Salisbury
39. Long Island Lizards - Donny Moss, Adelphi
40. Boston Cannons - Jake Beebe, Springfield
41. Denver Outlaws - Rocco Romero, Cornell
42. Toronto Nationals - Chris Schongar, Albany

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines