August 11, 2009

Dan Hardy Named MLL Rookie of the Year

from press releases

Outlaws midfielder Dan Hardy, the MLL's Rookie of the Year, became an instant hit at Invesco Field.

BOSTON -- Major League Lacrosse (MLL) announced Tuesday that Denver Outlaws midfielder Dan Hardy has been selected as the 2009 Cascade MLL Rookie of the Year, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general manager of each of the league's six teams.
Hardy was selected by the Denver Outlaws with the eighth overall pick in the 2009 MLL Collegiate Draft from Syracuse University, a mere days after he assisted on the game winning overtime goal to give the Orangemen the 2009 NCAA Men's Lacrosse National Championship in a victory over Cornell. Capping off his Syracuse career with back-to-back National Championships, Hardy was also an USILA Honorable Mention All-American in 2007, 2008, and 2009.
Hardy began his professional lacrosse career on a high note, with his highest point total occurring in his very first MLL game, as he contributed a goal and three assists, including an assist on new teammate Matt Brown's game-winning goal, in Denver's May 30 victory over the Washington Bayhawks. Additionally, Hardy had the eventual game-winning goal in Denver's Aug. 1 victory over the Long Island Lizards at Hofstra's Shuart Stadium.

“I am very happy for Dan,” said Outlaws head coach and general manager Brian Reese.  “He has really done a great job for us and is an important part of our team. He picked up the speed of the MLL game quickly and didn’t skip a beat in his transition from college.”
Hardy quietly led all rookies in scoring this season with a total of 16 points (8g, 8a) in 10 games with the Outlaws.
Hardy received 17 points to win the award, while his Denver teammate Max Seibald finished second in the voting with 15 points. Seibald, the 2009 Tewaaraton Trophy winner, finished fifth among rookies in scoring, with nine goals (2 two-point goals) and one assist for 12 points.
Hardy, Seibald, and their No. 1-seeded Denver Outlaws team will face the No. 4-seeded Boston Cannons in a 12 p.m. Eastern semifinal on Saturday, Aug. 22. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2HD. The winner of that game will face either the Toronto Nationals or the Long Island Lizards in the New Balance MLL Championship Game on Sunday, Aug. 23 at 1 p.m. Eastern.
MLL Rookies of the Year
2001 - Keith Cromwell, Bridgeport
2002 - Conor Gill, Boston
2003 - Adam Doneger, Rochester
2004 - Ryan Boyle, Philadelphia
2005 - Brodie Merrill, Baltimore
2006 - Matt Ward, Baltimore
2007 - Alex Smith, Rochester
2008 - Kevin Huntley, Los Angeles
2009 - Dan Hardy, Denver Outlaws

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines