August 17, 2009

MLL: Outlaws Reap Postseason Awards

from press releases

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Monday that Denver Outlaws goalie Jesse Schwartzman has been named as the 2009 Warrior Goalkeeper of the Year, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general manager of each of the League's six teams.

Schwartzman, a 2007 graduate of Johns Hopkins, appeared in the most games (12) and played the most minutes (675:28) of any goalie in the League this season. With a 9-2 record on goal, Schwarztman was a key component in leading the Outlaws to a League best 9-3 overall regular season record and the #1 overall seed in the MLL postseason.

Schwartzman also enjoyed a league best 11.28 goals against average. He twice earned Bud Light Game MVP honors for his performance in victories over the Toronto Nationals on June 20th and the Long Island Lizards on August 1. Schwartzman was also named the League's Defensive Player of the Week an impressive three times this season, in weeks 4, 6, and 11.

Completing his third season in Denver, Schwartzman has an all-time regular season record of 19-7 in 25 games played, and a career 12.38 GAA and .548 save percentage.

Schwartzman received a total of 52 points and 8 first-place votes. Brian Dougherty of the Long Island Lizards, who has won the award on three previous occasions, was second having received 28 points and 3 first-place votes.

Earlier, the league also announced that Outlaws head coach Brian Reese had been named the 2009 Brine Coach of the Year.

Reese’s Outlaws finished the 2009 season with a league-leading 9-3 record, becoming the first team this season to clinch a playoff spot and securing the overall #1 seed throughout the postseason. Reese, who has also served the team’s general manager since 2005, took over the head coaching duties five games into the Outlaws’ 2007 season. They have qualified for the playoff in each season since joining the league in 2006.
Under Reese, the Outlaws have a regular season record of 22-9. In 2008, Denver made it to the New Balance MLL Championship Game, where they were defeated by the Rochester Rattlers.
This year, the Outlaws had the third-best offense in the League, averaging 13.83 goals per game. More impressive, however, has been their play at the other end of the field. On average, the Outlaws have allowed a league-low 11.50 goals per game.
Reese, a graduate of the University of Maryland, spent four seasons (2001-2004) as a defenseman with the Baltimore Bayhawks and part of a fifth (2005) with the Philadelphia Barrage. Appearing in 53 regular season MLL games, he collected a total of 106 ground balls. Reese also appeared in six postseason games as a member of the Bayhawks.

Reese received a total of 52 points and nine first-place votes. Boston Cannons Coach Bill Daye was a distant second in the voting, receiving 18 points.  Last season, Reese finished third in the voting for Coach of the Year, while receiving four first-place votes.
Reese will be on the sidelines and Schwartzman in the cage, as the No. 1-seeded Denver Outlaws face the Boston Cannons in the first semifinal game of the New Balance Championship Weekend at 12 p.m. Eastern on Saturday. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2. The winner of that game will advance on to face either the Toronto Nationals or the Long Island Lizards in the championship game Sunday at 1 p.m. Eastern.

All-Time MLL Goalkeepers of the Year
2001 - Greg Cattrano, Baltimore Bayhawks
2002 - Greg Cattrano, Baltimore Bayhawks
2003 - Brian Dougherty, Long Island Lizards
2004 - Greg Cattrano, Baltimore Bayhawks
2005 - Chris Garrity, Boston Cannons
2006 - Brian Dougherty, Philadelphia Barrage
2007 - Brian Dougherty, Philadelphia Barrage
2008 - Mickey Jarboe, Los Angeles Riptide
2009 - Jesse Schwartzman, Denver Outlaws

All-Time MLL Coaches of the Year
2001 - John DeTomasso, Long Island Lizards
2002 - Scott Hiller, Boston Cannons
2003 - Ted Georgalas, New Jersey Pride
2004 - Sal LoCascio, Philadelphia Barrage
2005 - Scott Hiller, Boston Cannons
2006 - Tony Resch, Philadelphia Barrage
2007 - John Tucker, Los Angeles Riptide
2008 - Tony Resch, Philadelphia Barrage
2009 - Brian Reese, Denver Outlaw

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines