August 20, 2009

Cannonized: Paul Rabil Named MLL MVP

MLL Award Winners:

MVP | Offensive POY | Defensive POY | Goalie | Coach | Improved | Sportsman | Rookie

from press release

BOSTON -- Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Thursday that Boston Cannon midfielder Paul Rabil has been selected as the 2009 Bud Light MLL Most Valuable Player, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general manager of each of the league's six teams.
This marks the fourth consecutive year that the Bud Light MVP winner is also the Warrior Offensive Player of the Year.  It was announced yesterday that Rabil had earned the Warrior Offensive Player of the Year award.
Rabil graduated from Johns Hopkins in 2008 as the school's all-time leader in goals and assists for a midfielder. 
This season, Rabil was named as the Bud Light Game MVP twice during the regular season.  The first of which came in week three against the Chicago Machine when he opened up the game with a two-point goal.  In week six, he punished the Washington Bayhawks with a nine-point game, helping the Cannons to win by a wide 10-goal margin.  He has also earned MLL Offensive Player of the Week honors twice this season. 
Rabil has scored in each of the 12 regular season games he has played for the Cannons this year, averaging over four points per game.  This key contributor is a critical element to the Cannons' lineup, not only putting points on the board but stepping up his game in transition as well.   
The 2009 MLL scoring leader will be expected to be an impact player in Boston's semifinal game as the No. 4-seeded Cannons take on the formidable No. 1-seeded Denver Outlaws.

All-Time MLL Bud Light MVPs
2001 - Ryan Powell, Rochester Rattlers
2002 - Greg Cattrano, Baltimore Bayhawks
2003 - Jay Jalbert, Long Island Lizards
2004 - Conor Gill, Boston Cannons
2005 - Gary Gait, Baltimore Bayhawks
        - Mark Millon, Boston Cannons
2006 - Ryan Powell, San Francisco  Dragons
2007 - John Grant Jr., Rochester Rattlers
2008 - John Grant Jr., Rochester Rattlers
2009 - Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons
Rabil earned seven first-place votes, adding up to 44 points.  For a second time in the end of year awards process, Merrick Thomson of the Toronto Nationals was in the number two spot in the voting, finishing with three first-place votes, totaling 27 points. 
You will see both Rabil and Thomson in Annapolis this weekend.  Rabil and the Cannons will face the Outlaws in the first playoff game on Saturday at 12 p.m. Eastern (ESPN2), while Thomson and the Toronto Nationals play the Long Island Lizards in the second semifinal at 3 p.m. (Universal Sports).

The winner of Saturday's two semifinals will advance to the New Balance Championship Game at 1 p.m. Sunday (ESPN2).

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines