August 19, 2010

Boston's Matt Poskay Named MLL MVP

from staff reports

Matt Poskay is the second Boston Cannon to take home MLL MVP honors in as many years. Paul Rabil won it in 2009.

* Poskay for MVP? Cannon Makes Case
* Lucky No. 7: Poskay Dodges Cancer

A year after beating testicular cancer and undergoing extensive radiation treatments, Matt Poskay is the most valuable player of Major League Lacrosse.

Poskay, an attackman for the Boston Cannons, was named Thursday as the 2010 Bud Light MLL MVP. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general manager of each of the league's six teams.
This marks the fifth consecutive year that the Bud Light MVP winner is also the Warrior Offensive Player of the Year. Poskay won that award Tuesday.
Poskay, a 2006 graduate of the University of Virginia, was picked by the Boston Cannons with the 12th overall selection in the MLL collegiate draft.

This season, Poskay moved from midfield to attack to give the Cannons more firepower. The move paid off, allowing Poskay to score a league-leading 45 goals and 52 points in 12 games. He set Boston records for career goals (140 in 51 career games) and single-season goals (45). He tallied four or more goals in seven games this season while shooting 45.9 percent.
This marks the second time in Boston's history that the Bud Light MVP award has been given to a Cannons' player in back-to-back seasons. In 2004, Conor Gill became the first Cannon to receive the honor and Mark Millon was the second the following year. Last season, Paul Rabil brought the award back to the Cannons.
Poskay earned five first-place votes for a total of 31 points. Long Island's Matt Danowski finished second for the award with 24 points, while Denver's Max Seibald was third with 10 points.
All-Time MLL Bud Light MVPs
2001 - Ryan Powell, Rochester
2002 - Greg Cattrano, Baltimore
2003 - Jay Jalbert, Long Island
2004 - Conor Gill, Boston
2005 - Gary Gait, Baltimore and Mark Millon, Boston
2006 - Ryan Powell, San Francisco
2007 - John Grant Jr., Rochester
2008 - John Grant Jr., Rochester
2009 - Paul Rabil, Boston
2010 - Matt Poskay, Boston
Poskay is expected to be an impact player Saturday in Annapolis, Md., where the top-seeded Cannons take on the fourth-seeded Chesapeake Bayhawks in the first MLL playoff game at 12 p.m. Eastern. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2.

The winner of Saturday's two semifinals (the other pits Denver against Long Island) will advance to Sunday's MLL Championship Game at 1 p.m. Eastern, also on ESPN2.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines