January 21, 2011

MLL to Add Teams in Charlotte, Columbus

from staff reports

BOSTON -- Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, on Friday announced that two new teams will be added to the league in the 2012 season.  The two new teams will be located in Charlotte, N.C., and Columbus, Ohio. 

In addition, MLL commissioner David Gross announced that beginning in 2012 each of the league's teams will be playing a 14-game schedule, an increase from the current 12-game schedule.

More details are expected at a later date. Friday's news confirms an earlier report by Lacrosse Magazine Online in which Gross identified 19 target markets for MLL expansion. Gross said at the time it was "in the bank" that the MLL will also add two teams in 2013.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines