November 17, 2010

Video: How One Woman Pioneered Plastic

Eight new players and coaches joined the ranks of lacrosse immortality Oct. 30, when Scott Bacigalupo, Michael Burnett, Mac Ford, Eleanor Keady Gaffney, Francesca Den Hartog, Jack Kaley, Bonnie Rosen and Mary McCarthy Stefano were inducted as the 53rd class into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

The three videos below feature old-school highlights of former Harvard player and UMass coach  Francesca Den Hartog, the first woman to use a plastic head in the NCAA and for Team USA, and her fondest lacrosse memory: the game-winning goal in the 1989 World Cup final.

HOF Videos: Class of 2010 | Bacigalupo | Burnett | Den Hartog | Ford | Gaffney | Kaley | Rosen | Stefano

1. Carole Kleinfelder on Francesca Den Hartog

2. Remembering the Golden Goal

3. Coaching Future Coaches

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines