September 9, 2009

NLL Draft: Sid Smith Goes No. 1 to Knighthawks

from staff reports

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- The Rochester Knighthawks selected Syracuse University and Six Nations defender Sid Smith with the first overall pick in Wednesday's 2009 National Lacrosse League Entry Draft. Smith becomes the fourth Knighthawk selected first overall, joining John Grant (2000), Casey Powell (1999) and Cam Bomberry (1995).

The Knighthawks also held the second pick of the draft, selecting forward/transition player Illija Gajic, who was dismissed from the University of Denver this spring due to an arrest.

Zack Greer, the NCAA's all-time goals leader at Duke University who most recently spent an additional year of eligibility at Bryant University, surprisingly dropped to No. 3 in the draft, where the Minnesota Swarm scooped him.

Two more former Denver players -- Alex Gajic, Illija's brother, and Cliff Smith -- went Nos. 4 and 5 to the Colorado Mammoth.

Garrett Billings (Virginia) and Joel Dalgarno (Ohio State) are headed to Toronto after the Rock snagged them with the Nos. 6 and 7 picks, respectively.

The Boston Blazers, coming off a successful first season built on a blend of American transition players and Canadian skills players, went with bullish Max Seibald (Cornell) with the No. 8 overall selection.

Corey Small (Edmonton), Kyle Clancy (Buffalo), Stephen Leblanc (Toronto) and Scott Tinning (Edmonton) rounded out first-round selections. Updated results:

1. Rochester - Sid Smith - Syracuse University
2. Rochester - Ilija Gajic - Denver University
3. Minnesota - Zack Greer - Bryant University
4. Colorado - Cliff Smith - Denver University
5. Colorado - Alex Gajic - Denver University
6. Toronto - Garrett Billings - University of Virginia
7. Toronto - Joel Dalgarno - Ohio State Univeristy
8. Boston - Max Seibald - Cornell University
9. Edmonton* - Corey Small - University at Albany
10. Buffalo** - Kyle Clancy - Peterborough, ON
11. Toronto - Stephen Leblanc - Queens University
12. Edmonton - Scott Tinning - Brampton, ON

13. Washington*** - Matt Beers - Coquitlam, BC
14. Edmonton - Dane Stevens - Brampton, ON
15. Buffalo - Chris Corbeil - Brampton, ON
16. Philadelphia - Bobby Snider - Bellarmine University
17. Colorado - Brad Richardson - Denver University
18. Rochester - Holdon Vyse - Six Nations, ON
19. Orlando** - Dan Hardy - Syracuse University
20. Boston - Matt Abbott - Syracuse University
21. Buffalo - Steve Priolo - St. Catharines, ON
22. Orlando - Michael Evans - Johns Hopkins University
23. Washington*** - Erik Sage - Victoria, BC

24. Washington**** - Ben Hunt - University of North Carolina
25. Edmonton - Brett Mydske - New Westminster, BC
26. Philadelphia - John Glynn - Cornell University
27. Calgary - Carlton Schuss - Delta, BC
28. Rochester - Brendan Doran - Brampton, ON
29. Washington - Rhys Jones - Victoria, BC
30. Washington - Ray Hodgkinson - Burnaby, BC
31. Toronto - Damon Edwards - Orangeville, ON
32. Colorado - Shaun Dhaliwal - Burnaby, BC
33. Boston - Scott Kahoe - Syracuse University
34. Rochester - Ryan Hoff - University of Notre Dame

35. Colorado - Ryan McFadyen - Duke University
36. Minnesota - Kevin Colleluori - Colgate University
37. Philadelphia - Peet Poillon - UMBC
38. Boston - Matt Messina - NYIT
39. Buffalo - Zac McIlmoyle - Peterborough, ON
40. Philadelphia^ - Mike Timms - University of Virginia
41. Orlando - Kenny Nims - Syracuse University

42. Edmonton - Geoff McNulty - St. Catharines, ON
43. Toronto - Anthony Lackey - Orangeville, ON
44. Minnesota - Cody Johnson - Onondaga Community College
45. Philadelphia - PT Ricci - Loyola College
46. Colorado - Ben Davies - New Westminster, BC
47. Rochester - Dan Groot - University of Maryland
48. Edmonton - Sean Lapatynski - Edmonton, AB
49. Washington - Chris Taylor - Georgetown University
50. Orlando - Ryan Learn - Burlington, ON
51. Calgary - Garrett Werschke - Calgary, AB

52. Edmonton - Craig Zeeh - Kitchener, ON
53. Toronto - John Quarrie - Orangeville, ON
54. Minnesota - Matt Kelly - University of Virginia
55. Colorado^^ - Neil Tyacke - New Westminster, BC
56. Colorado - Rocco Romero - Cornell University
57. Rochester - Brandon Corp - Colgate University
58. Washington - Chris O'Dougherty - Rutgers University
59. Boston - Mike Stone - Middlebury College
60. Buffalo - Matt Freedman - Canisius College
61. Orlando - Ryan McCafferty - Elizabethtown College
62. Calgary - Casey MacIntyre - Calgary, AB

*The Minnesota Swarm traded the ninth overall selection to the Edmonton Rush in exchange for Richard Morgan.

**The Orlando Titans traded the 10th overall selection to the Buffalo Bandits in exchange for the 19th overall selection and their first round pick in 2011.

***The Minnesota Swarm traded the 13th overall selection and the 23rd overall selection to the Washington Stealth in exchange for Alex Turner and Aaron Bold.

****The Buffalo Bandits traded the 24th overall selection to the Washington Stealth in exchange for Frank Resetarits.

^The Buffalo Bandits traded the 40th overall selection to the Philadelphia Wings in exchange for Jon Harasym.

^^The Philadelphia Wings traded the 55th overall selection to the Colorado Mammoth in exchange for Mike Ward.

Smith heads to Rochester after winning two championships in the past four months. He was instrumental in Syracuse's 10-9 victory over Cornell in the NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Finals in May. Then in August, he celebrated the expansion Toronto Nationals' Major League Lacrosse title. With SU, he also earned All-American honors for the second straight season.

For Smith, winning has become second nature as his resume also includes a 2008 NCAA title with Syracuse, a 2007 Minto Cup with the Six Nations Arrows and a 2006 National Junior College championship with Onondaga County College. The 23 year old also won four straight Ontario Championships while playing his junior ball with Six Nations (2004-07).

While playing junior lacrosse, Smith was the recipient of the 2007 John "Gus" McCauley Memorial Trophy as the Ontario Junior "A" League's Defender of the Year and was named a First Team All-Star. Further, he won B.W. "Bill" Evans Trophy as the top graduating player in the OLA Junior series after helping guide the Arrows to a 17-0-1 record. He capped that season with a championship and the Dean McLeod Award as the Ontario Junior "A" Playoff MVP. In 2006, he was named the Aboriginal Athlete of the Year and competed for the Iroquois Nationals at the International Lacrosse Federation (ILF) World Lacrosse Championship.

This summer, he played in 10 games with the Six Nations Chiefs of Major Series Lacrosse and collected two goals, six assists and won 32 faceoffs. Smith, who was picked sixth overall in the MLL Draft, also played field lacrosse for Toronto Nationals. In his rookie season, he appeared in eight games and recorded one goal and 16 ground balls.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines