December 24, 2009

Pym: Anything Less Than Calgary Title a Failure

from press release

CALGARY, AB—The Calgary Roughnecks announced their final roster for the upcoming 2010 National Lacrosse League (NLL) season today. The 23-man roster will dress seven new players, with 16 names returning from the 2009 season. Head Coach Dave Pym is determined to see the Riggers through to another Champion’s Cup.

“Anything less than a Championship will be a failure,” says Pym. “We are going to bring a high octane, in-your-face defensive pressure, a lightning quick attack in transition, lunch bucket workingman scores, and a no-nonsense work ethic with a commitment to excellence that our great fans deserve.”

Pym was named head coach in the summer of 2009. He joined the Roughnecks in 2007 as the team’s assistant coach/offensive coordinator.

Curt Malawsky, who retired from the NLL after winning the Champion’s Cup with the Roughnecks last year, will enter his first year behind the bench as assistant coach/offensive coordinator. He played for the Roughnecks for two years and played in the NLL for a span of 12 years before hanging up his jersey.

The Riggers' offense will include returners Kaleb Toth, Jeff Shattler, Josh Sanderson, Dane Dobbie and Scott Ranger. Craig Conn and Carlton Schuss have been added, along with transition player Rob Van Beek.

“We operate a system that taps into the creative talent and work ethic of a very special group of players,” said Pym. “Whatever the role, they will fight like cats and dogs to get it. You can`t help but stand in awe of the leadership coming off our frontend.”

Tracey Kelusky has been placed on the Physically Unable to Perform list.

"Tracey took care of some summer knicks and is closing in on completion of his training program,” added  Pym. “He is fully expected to be in the lineup come January 10th.”

Jeff Moleski, Scott Carnegie, Mike Carnegie, Bruce Codd, Andrew McBride, Peter McFetridge, Mike Kilby and John Lintz return from the 2009 defense. Curtis Manning, Rob Kirkby, and Craig Gelsvik have been added.

“Our backend is chalk full of our heart and soul,” said Pym. “The game sense, strength, athleticism, controlled aggression and shear love of the game stand outs with this group.”

Other familiar Riggers are transition players Devan Wray and Nolan Heavenor, and goaltender Matt King who had an impeccable season with the Roughnecks in 2009. Chris Levis, formerly from the Edmonton Rush, will also suit up between the pipes.

Pym has high expectations for the tag-team in net. “We expect our goalies to stop the ones they should stop, stop the ones they shouldn’t stop and put up some offensive numbers,” he said. “They are our last line of defence; they allow us to take chances as we are confident they can close the door when it matters most.”
2010 Calgary Roughnecks Roster

No. - Name - Position

4 - Devan Wray - Transition
6 - John Lintz - Defense
7 - Rob Van Beek - Transition
8 - Craig Conn - Forward
9 - Kaleb Toth - Forward
10 - Curtis Manning - Defense
14 - Jeff Moleski - Defense
15 - Rob Kirkby - Defense
16 - Mike Carnegie - Defense
19 - Josh Sanderson - Forward
20 - Bruce Codd - Defense
24 - Scott Carnegie - Defense
26 - Craig Gelsvick - Defense
28 - Carlton Schuss - Forward
30 - Matt King - Goalie
33 - Chris Levis - Goalie
37 - Andrew McBride - Defense
40 - Nolan Heavenor - Transition
44 - Dane Dobbie - Forward
55 - Mike Kilby - Defense
71 - Scott Ranger - Forward
77 - Jeff Shattler - Forward
80 - Peter McFetridge - Defense

“We are a family through and through,” said Pym. “A tight brotherhood willing to spill as much blood and guts necessary to reach our goals.”

The Calgary Roughnecks kick-off the 2010 season on Sunday, Jan. 10 at the Pengrowth Saddledome against the Minnesota Swarm.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines