December 29, 2009

NLL: Bandits, Swarm Announce 2010 Rosters

from press release

BUFFALO, N.Y -- Buffalo Bandits Director of Lacrosse Operations Scott Loffler today announced the team's 23-man roster for the 2010 National Lacrosse League season.

The Bandits return 15 players from their 2009 squad, including veterans John Tavares and Mark Steenhuis. There will be eight new faces on the roster: forwards Jon Harasym, Frank Resetarits, AJ Shannon; defensemen Chris Driscoll, Darryl Gibson, Chris Corbeil (R), Steve Priolo (R); and goaltender Angus Goodleaf.

The Bandits also announced that forward Clay Hill has been placed on the protected player list. The complete roster is listed below.

The Bandits will open the 2010 season on the road against the Rochester Knighthawks on Saturday, January 9 at 8:05 p.m. Buffalo will host Rochester the following week, Saturday, January 16 at 7:30 p.m.

Ian Llord          
Billy Dee Smith
Chris White
Chris Corbeil
Kyle Schmelzle
Tom Montour
Steve Priolo
Darryl Gibson
Chris Driscoll

Frank Resetarits
Jon Harasym
Delby Powless
Mark Steenhuis
John Tavares
Mike Accursi
AJ Shannon
Kevin Dostie
Sean Greenhalgh
Brett Bucktooth
Roger Vyse
Brandon Francis

Ken Montour
Angus Goodleaf

SAINT PAUL, Minn. -- The National Lacrosse League's (NLL) Minnesota Swarm have announced the team's final 23-man roster for the 2010 season. Minnesota will return 15 members from last season and welcome eight new faces in 2010. Among those returning include last year's top scorers Sean Pollock and Aaron Wilson, All-Stars Ryan Cousins and Nick Inch, and "All-Rookie Team" honoree Kevin Buchanan.

After finishing 6-10 last season, General Manager Marty O'Neill spent the offseason accumulating new talent in effort to return the Swarm to the playoffs in 2010. Minnesota's offseason was headlined by the acquisition of Zack Greer, who was taken with the third overall selection in the 2009 NLL Entry Draft. Greer, 23, a left-handed forward from Whitby, ON finished his collegiate career as the NCAA's all-time leading scorer while at Duke University and Bryant University. O'Neill acquired another talented left-handed forward in Ryan Benesch, a former first overall selection in the 2006 NLL Entry Draft, as well as three promising forwards in Tim Campeau, Callum Crawford and Sean Thomson.

"We are looking forward to the 2010 season. We have added key players in many positions," said O'Neill. "Training camp was valuable for the veterans to re-establish themselves and they did. The new guys like Campeau, Benesch and Crawford also made noise which has us anticipating a better year on offense."

On defense, O'Neill added more depth and size by trading for veterans Scott Self and Rich Morgan. Together the two bring a combined 15 years of NLL experience to an already deep lineup. O'Neill also upgraded the team's special teams department with the acquisition of transition specialist Jay Thorimerbert, who is expected to see a majority of face-offs this season.

Minnesota will be led by first year Head Coach Mike Lines in 2010. Lines spent the previous three seasons as an assistant coach with the team and will be joined by first-year assistant coaches Aime Caines and Joe Sullivan on the sidelines this season. O'Neill will be entering his sixth season as the General Manager of the Swarm.

In other roster news, Minnesota placed Rory McDade and Travis Hill on the Injured Reserve List, Matt Kelly on the Inactive Draft List, and Dan Marohl on the Hold Out List.

The Swarm will open the 2010 regular season on the road against the defending NLL champion Calgary Roughnecks on Sunday, January 10 at 4:00 p.m. CST. Five days later, the two teams meet again at Xcel Energy Center for the home opener on Friday, Jan. 15 at 7:35 p.m. CST.

Colin Achenbach
Joe Cinosky
Ryan Cousins
Josh Funk
Nick Inch
Rich Morgan
Eric Pacey
Scott Self
Jon Sullivan
Noah Talbot
Jay Thorimbert
Andrew Watt

Ryan Benesch
Kevin Buchanan
Tim Campeau
Callum Crawford
Zack Greer
Sean Pollock
Kevin Ross
Sean Thomson
Aaron Wilson

Kevin Croswell
Nick Patterson

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines