February 7, 2011

NLL Announces All-Star Starters

from press release

Swarm forward Ryan Benesch is one of two West Division starters from Minnesota in the Feb. 27 NLL All-Star Game.

The National Lacrosse League has announced the starting lineups for the league's 2011 All-Star Game, presented by the Oneida Indian Nation. The game takes place at the Event Center at Turning Stone Resort Casino in Verona, N.Y. on Sunday, Feb. 27 at 2 p.m. Eastern.

The starting lineups were selected by the votes of the league's coaches, media and fans, who voted via online ballot at the league's website, NLL.com.

The East All-Star starting lineup consists of forwards Casey Powell (Boston Blazers) and Colin Doyle (Toronto Rock), transition player Mark Steenhuis (Buffalo Bandits), defensemen Chris White (Buffalo Bandits) and Pat McCready (Rochester Knighthawks) and goaltender Brandon Miller (Philadelphia Wings).

The West All-Star starting lineup consists of forwards Ryan Benesch (Minnesota Swarm) and Scott Ranger (Calgary Roughnecks), transition player Brodie Merrill (Edmonton Rush), defensemen Andrew McBride (Calgary Roughnecks) and Mike Grimes (Washington Stealth) and goaltender Nick Patterson (Minnesota Swarm).

The reserves for the East and West teams will be announced later this week. A list of the starting lineups below includes the number of times that each player has been selected to the league's All-Star Game. Among the starters, Colin Doyle has now been selected to his ninth NLL All-Star Game, the most of any player in league history.

Last week the league announced that the East will be coached by Toronto Rock head coach Troy Cordingley, and the West by Washington Stealth head coach Chris Hall. Ed Comeau and Derek Keenan will serve as assistant coaches for the East and West, respectively.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines