May 6, 2011

Rochester Sweeps GM, Coach of Year Honors

from press release

Rochester Knighthawks owner and general manager Curt Styres has won the General Manager of the Year Award for the 2011 season, and Knighthawks head coach Mike Hasen has won The Les Bartley Award, presented to the Head Coach of the Year.

In his second season as general manager, Styres helped the Knighthawks transition from an older, veteran team, to a team on the rise, infused with young talent. Through trades, drafting, and free agency, Styres was able to acquire major contributors to the Knighthawks such as goaltender Matt Vinc, transition player Jordan Hall, and rookie forward Cody Jamieson. The Knighthawks posted a 10-6 regular season record, a three win improvement from last season, and the most wins since going 14-2 during their 2007 championship season. Styres, who is also Owner of the Knighthawks franchise, was also named the league's Executive of the Year on Wednesday.

Mike Hasen is the first ever rookie head coach ever to win The Les Bartley Award, presented to the Head Coach of the Year. Hasen flourished in his rookie season as head coach of the Knighthawks, playing a major role in overseeing the team's transformation this season.

In his first season as head coach and with 15 new players on the roster, Hasen led Rochester to overcome a slow start to finish with a 10-6 record, a tie for first place in the Eastern Division and a trip to the 2011 Playoffs.

The Head Coach of the Year award is named in honor of the late Les Bartley, whose contribution to his teams, to the NLL, and to the game of lacrosse is immeasurable. Bartley, who lost his battle with colon cancer in May of 2005, left behind a coaching legacy. He won seven championship rings in his 12-year coaching tenure and tallied an astonishing 93-38 regular season record behind the bench.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines