June 5, 2012

Fans Invited to Vote on NLL Hall of Fame Class

from press release

The National Lacrosse League invites fans to suggest candidates for the next round of nominations for the league's Hall of Fame. Fans can submit their suggestions via the National Lacrosse League's facebook page. Suggestions will be accepted until June 14, 2012. The Hall of Fame Selection Criteria is listed below.

The league's Hall of Fame Committee will take the suggestions into consideration in putting together a list of nominees for the Hall of Fame's Class of 2012. A final vote by the league's Board of Governors will follow as to which nominees will become the next members of the Hall of Fame.

Nominees who do not gain admission into the Hall of Fame on their first year on the ballot are automatically placed on the ballot the following season. Last year's first time nominees were goaltenders Bob Watson & Steve Dietrich, and defenseman Pat Coyle. Watson was voted into the Hall of Fame. Coyle & Dietrich did not receive the needed number of votes, but both will be on the ballot again for 2012.

The NLL facebook page can be found at facebook.com/National.Lacrosse.League or by clicking here.

Hall of Fame Selection Criteria:

In order for a player, coach, official or executive to be considered for the NLL Hall of Fame, their careers in professional indoor lacrosse must meet the following criteria:

-A player must be retired from playing professional indoor lacrosse in order to be eligible for consideration and shall be considered based on the individual's record, ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, and contributions to the team and sport.

-A coach must have coached for at least eight seasons in professional indoor lacrosse. The coach can be active or retired.

-An official (referee) must be retired and have had officiated within the league for at least eight seasons.

-An executive must have been affiliated as an executive with a team or the league for at least eight seasons.

Current Members, NLL Hall of Fame

Class of 2006 (Founding Members)

Les Bartley
Russ Cline
Chris Fritz
Gary Gait
Paul Gait

Class of 2007

Mike French
Darris Kilgour
Tom Marecheck

Class of 2008

Sal LoCascio
Johnny Mouradian
Tony Resch

Class of 2009

Dallas Eliuk
Jim Veltman

Class of 2010

Rich Kilgour
Dan Stroup
John Tucker

Class of 2011

Bob Watson

Media Recognition

Tom Borrelli (2007)
Neil Stevens (2008)

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines