June 6, 2012

Jake Elliott Wins Tom Borrelli Award for Media Person of the Year

from press release

SAINT PAUL, Minn. – The National Lacrosse League (NLL) today announced that Jake Elliott – the play-by-play voice of the Minnesota Swarm – is the winner of the Tom Borrelli Award, given annually to the NLL Media Person of the Year.

As the play-by-play voice of the Swarm on KSTC-TV, Channel 45, Elliott brought a wealth of knowledge and insight to the broadcast booth, having previously spent time as a player and coach on the professional level. And for the first time in team history, all of the Swarm's home games aired on TV in 2012.

"On behalf of the entire Swarm organization, we want to congratulate Jake and this award is very well deserved," Swarm Owner and President John Arlotta said. "Because of Jake's outstanding presentation on Channel 45, our ratings have been extremely high and we've been able to increase the interest in the Swarm in our community."

Elliott, has more than a decade of lacrosse play-by-play announcing experience, and his broadcasts on KSTC in 2012 were also seen by NLL fans across North America as they also aired on The NLL Network. Elliott also hosts 'Inside the Hive', the Swarm's weekly in-season podcast on mnswarm.com.

"First and foremost I'd like to thank the Arlotta family for giving me this opportunity with the Swarm," Elliott said. "Working with Channel 45 was a great experience and they are an outstanding partner as well. I look forward to working with them for many more seasons to come. I'm truly honored that the NLL Board of Governors has chosen me for this award and would also like to thank all of the viewers who tuned into our broadcasts via the NLL Network this season."

Elliott went on to add, "The Swarm is a first class organization to work for and I'm grateful that I was given the chance to work with Joe Moore in the booth. We developed some great chemistry together and he is a pleasure to work with. I'd finally like to thank Matt McCormack, Alec Schimke and everybody else in the organization for their support and doing all of the behind the scenes work. It was an unreal season with a lot of great memories and we had an absolutely fantastic group of guys on the team to be around."

In addition to his play-by-play duties with the Swarm, Elliott is also the Swarm's Director of Western Scouting.

"Jake has done a fantastic job as a scout and identified several Western players who ended up contributing greatly to the Swarm this season," Arlotta added.

The award is named in honor of the late Tom Borrelli, who covered the Buffalo Bandits from the team's inception in 1992 until his death in November 2008 for The Buffalo News.

Borrelli passed away on November 20, 2008, following injuries from an accident that took place while covering a high school football game in Buffalo. Borrelli was recognized by the NLL Hall of Fame in 2007, and was the first member of the media to be recognized by the Hall of Fame for their contributions to the game.

Originally presented to the league's Writer of the Year, the award was changed to Media Person of the Year in 2011 to allow for a wider range of media members to be considered for the award, including broadcasters. Elliott is the first television or radio announcer to win the award.

In total, the Swarm won five NLL Yearly Awards in 2012: GM of the Year (John Arlotta); Head Coach of the Year (Joe Sullivan); Transition Player of the Year (Andrew Suitor); Executive of the Year (Andy Arlotta); and Media Person of the Year (Jake Elliott).

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines