May 1, 2013

Swarm's MacIntosh Wins NLL Transition Player of Year Award

from press release

SAINT PAUL, Minn. – The National Lacrosse League (NLL) has announced that Minnesota Swarm transition player Jordan MacIntosh has won the Transition Player of the Year Award for the 2013 NLL season.

MacIntosh, 23, who recorded a career-high 55 points (27g, 28a) and ranked second in the league in loose balls (197) and fourth in faceoffs won (241), was named the NLL's Transition Player of the Week an NLL-high six times during the regular season. MacIntosh won the award in four consecutive weeks to close out the regular season.

In Minnesota's East Division Semifinal road victory last weekend against the Toronto Rock, MacIntosh set a new team record for most goals in a playoff game with four.

"It's truly an honor to receive this award," MacIntosh said. "If you look at the guys who have won this award in the past, it's a pretty exclusive group of lacrosse players. To be in the same group as those players is an awesome feeling and I feel very fortunate to be recognized."

The right-handed transition player broke several team milestones as well in 2013, which included the team's single season record for loose balls (197), faceoffs won (241), faceoff win percentage (55.5%, minimum 400 attempts) and the Swarm's single-game loose balls record (24). On offense, MacIntosh was the only Swarm player to record two 5-goal performances in 2013.

MacIntosh becomes the second-straight Swarm player to earn the distinction after teammate Andrew Suitor won the franchise's first-ever Transition Player of the Year award in 2012. After Suitor sustained a season-ending knee injury earlier this season, MacIntosh helped fill the role of their injured captain.

"I'm really happy for Jordan and he is very deserving of this award," Swarm associate general manager and head coach Joe Sullivan said. "I've watched him grow from his rookie season last year where he was really good, to have anything but a sophomore jinx this season. He gets better each time out and he sees the floor so well in transition and is so tough to contain."

The Oakville, Ontario native played collegiately at RIT and was the Swarm's first-round selection (No. 4 overall) in the 2011 NLL Entry Draft. He finished his 2012 rookie season with 51 points (23g, 28a), ranked among the league's top five in both loose balls (153) and faceoffs won (151) and became the first Swarm rookie to earn NLL All-Star honors.

The Swarm will visit the defending champion Rochester Knighthawks for their East Division Final playoff game on Saturday at 3 p.m. CST with the winner advancing to the 2013 NLL Championship Game the following weekend. The game will air on national television on CBS Sports Network this Saturday.

Jesse Gamble from the Toronto Rock was the runner-up for the award while Philadelphia Wings captain Brodie Merrill finished third in the voting.

The announcement of 2013 NLL Season Awards continues Thursday with the Goaltender of the Year Award. The 2013 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league's Board of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines