August 6, 2013

Pat O'Toole Earns Enshrinment in NLL Hall of Fame

from Staff Report

©Larry Palumbo

Pat O'Toole will be the 21st player enshrined in the National Lacrosse League Hall of Fame, the league announced on Tuesday afternoon. The longtime Buffalo and Rochester goalkeeper was the only finalist for the 2013 induction to receive enough votes, earning votes on every ballot cast by a Hall of Famer and on over 78% of the ballots overall.

Fellow finalists Pat McCready (48%), Caleb Toth (48%), the 1993 Bandits (42%), Chris Driscoll (21%) and Regy Thorpe (21%) fell short of the minimum requirement of 75%.

O'Toole played 16 seasons in the league from 1995-2010, highlighted by 12 years with the Rochester Knighthawks and three seasons with the Buffalo Bandits. The 2003 NLL Goaltender of the Year made 6,464 saves, second-most in league history, in 204 regular season games, which are the 10th-most games played in NLL history. O'Toole won two championships as a player, first with Buffalo in 1996 when he was named title game MVP, and again with the Knighthawks in 2007.

Rochester's all-time franchise leader in wins (102) and saves (5,756), O'Toole posted a career record of 115-56 with an 11.40 goals against average and .768 save percentage while adding an NLL-record three goals and 136 assists. O'Toole had a 9-9 record in 23 career playoff games with six Championship Game appearances (1996-1997, 1999-2000, 2003, 2007).

The Brampton, Ontario native currently serves as Rochester's goaltending coach and has now won back-to-back championships as a member of the team's coaching staff. O'Toole was inducted into the Knighthawks Hall of Fame this past March during a pregame ceremony. O'Toole joins fellow goaltenders Bob Watson and Steve Dietrich as the lone inductees into the Hall of Fame for the third-straight year.

Hall of Fame ballots were cast by the teams, current members of the NLL Hall of Fame and senior members of the league's covering media. Voters were able to select up to three of the six nominees on the ballot.

NLL Hall of Fame Class of 2013 induction ceremony plans will be announced at a later date.

The NLL Hall of Fame was established in 2006. The 21 current members are:

Class of 2006 (Founding Members)
Les Bartley
Russ Cline
Chris Fritz
Gary Gait
Paul Gait

Class of 2007
Mike French
Darris Kilgour
Tom Marechek

Class of 2008
Sal LoCascio
Johnny Mouradian
Tony Resch

Class of 2009
Dallas Eliuk
Jim Veltman

Class of 2010
Rich Kilgour
Dan Stroup
John Tucker

Class of 2011
Bob Watson

Class of 2012
Steve Dietrich

Class of 2013
Pat O'Toole

Members of Media Recognized by Hall of Fame
Tom Borrelli (2007)
Neil Stevens (2008)

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines