July 7, 2014

Lacrossewear Prevails, Team STX Repeats at Vail Shootout

by Simon Kaufman | LaxMagazine.com | Twitter

Lacrossewear took the Vail Shootout crown after falling in last year's final (conveniently to this year's runner-up The Cage Goes All Out). (Clark Bell/Gameface Media/Vail Shootout)

VAIL, Colo. — It was almost déjà vu at the Lacrosse Vail Shootout, but this time around Lacrosswear went home with the hardware, edging out defending champion The Cage Goes All Out. Speaking of Deja Vu, Team STX took home the crown for the second straight year, routing Team CRSLax.com 15-3 in the finale.

The men's elite teams faced off last year in the men's elite finals game with The Cage Goes All Out winning in a thrilling double-overtime game.

On Sunday though, after jumping out to an early lead, Lacrosswear was able to hang on, winning, 12-8.

Lacrosswear got on the board first with early goals from attack men Anthony Biscardi and Deemer Class. After a slashing penalty, The Cage Goes All Out took advantage of the man-up situation and Billy Ward found twine. But Lacrossewear midfielder Ryan Tucker got the goal back just 30 seconds later to put his team up, 3-1, after the first quarter.

In the second frame, the two teams traded goals with neither team scoring more than two goals in a row. The Cage Goes All Out found the net twice early, evening the score at 3-3. Then Class found himself with a clear look again after a dish from Steve Romano, and put the ball in to give Lacrossewear the edge again.

Next, The Cage Goes All Out's Kevin Wylie netted a goal to even the score, but just seven seconds later, Kevin Massa of Lacrossewear won the face off and took the ball down the field for a quick score.

The Cage Goes All Out scored the next two goals, and then Lacrossewear's Nick Mariano took over.

Mariano evened the score at six goals a piece with just under two minutes to go in the half, and then, got another shot to go with less than two seconds to go in the frame to send Lacrossewear into the half up by one. Mariano wasn't done though; he kicked off the third quarter with his third goal of the game to complete the hat trick.

"I was just put in a good opportunity to finish the ball," Mariano said. "That's why I'm on the team, just to finish the ball and look for my open opportunities and just score. I had good shots on goal and luckily they went in."

Lacrosswear's Ryan Brown fired a goal in off of a Ryan Tucker assist to put his squad up, 9-6, giving it its largest lead of the game up until that point. The Cage Goes All Out snagged one more goal before the frame's final whistle to set the stage for the fourth quarter with Lacrossewear leading, 9-7.

Defenses dominated the first half of the fourth, but Lacrossewear finally broke out with goals from Romar Dennis, Class and TJ Neubauer. Ward got a goal for The Cage Goes All Out late, but it wasn't enough to overcome Lacrossewear.

Team STX dominated play to take its second straight Elite Women's title. (Clark Bell/Gameface Media/Vail Shootout)

"The guys did a great job today," said Lacrossewear head coach Paul Landaiche. "They really played well. They've been very consistent all week in how they've played. A lot of times out here it's matchups, so we really didn't know until we got near the game exactly how it was going to play out, and Nick and Anthony both on attack did really, really well today matching up so we kept them in there."

Landaiche isn't starting to think about next year's tournament just yet.

"I'm only thinking now how I'm going to get that big trophy through security," he said.

But tournament organizers are already getting exciting for the 2015 Vail Lacrosse Shootout. The tournament will return to the mountain town in full force June 27-July 5, 2015. Next year's tournament will feature four more divisions as the Shootout returns to its typical eight-division setup.

The tournament will also feature a new and improved complex at Ford Field in 2015 which while will provide multiple fields in one location and increased convenience for players and fans.

"The scenery is magnificent," said Team Australia head coach Glenn Merit who participated in his first Vail Lacrosse Shootout this year. "The people are terrific. The place is fantastic. I cant believe I haven't been here before."

Women's Final

It was a sunny morning as Team STX and CRSLax went head to head for the women's Elite Championship at Athletic Field. With Whitney Houston singing the national anthem as both teams took to the field, the initial draw was set. Team STX received the draw and scored on the possession. Using that as a foundation Team STX fueled a full on attack staking a 7-0 fun. CRSLax goalie was bombarded with shots and has 3 saves though Team STX scored twice more making it a 9-0 game. With quick play CRSLax's #1 Lauren Uhr finessed her way around the goal to slide one in getting her team on the board. Going into the half Team STX had an 11-1 lead. In the second half Team STX scored first with #13 Liz Fey assisting a goal to #3 Jessica Mucci of CRSLax for a score also. As play continued Team STX scored 3 goals to CRSLax's 1 by #3 Jessica Mucci, her second of the game. The match ended with Team STX on top 15-3 with hard found game by CRSLax. #4 Kitty Cullen of Team STX walked away with MVP of this year's Vail Lacrosse Shootout.

All-Tournament Selections

Women's Elite Men's Elite
Kitty Cullen - Team STX

Sarah Lautman - CU Club
Kaity Weiland - Lakeshore
Natalie Foerster - ‘Merica
Michaela Michael - Lax Rats 
Nikki Bracken - Lax Rats
Sarah Kellner - Lax Rats
Ashley Mitchelides - CRSLax.com
Katelyn Driscoll - CRSLax.com
Cacki Helmer - Team STX
Lauren Schmidt - Team STX
Alyssa Murray - Team STX
Frankie Caridi - CRSLax.com

Ifat Ribon - Lakeshore

Keeper of Lacrosse
Beth Calder - Lax Rats
Anthony Biscardi (Umass '12) – On the Hop Nation / Lacrossewear 
Nick Mariano (Umass '17) – On the Hop Nation / Lacrossewear
Ryan Danehy (Dartmouth '06) – Brine Elite
Billy Ward (Syracuse '14) – The Cage Goes All Out

Brad Heritage (Dartmouth '06) – The Big Green Herd
Ben Newman (Australia) – The Sharks
Korey Hendrickson (Hofstra '15) – Jammin’ Salmon
Tyler German (Virginia '15) – The Cage Goes All Out

Long Stick Midfield Specialist
Ross Hamilton (Australia) – The Sharks

Face-off Midfield Specialist
Kevin Massa (Bryant '16) – On The Hop Nation / Lacrossewear

Kyle Menendez (Stevenson '11) – The Big Green Herd
Callum Robinson (Australia) – The Sharks 
Andrew Newbold (Sacred Heart '14) – Jammin’ Salmon
Tanner Scales (Virginia '15) – On The Hop Nation / Lacrossewear
Matt Landis (Notre Dame '16) – On The Hop Nation / Lacrossewear

Connor Darcey (Penn State '17) – Brine Elite

Final Standings

Women's Elite Men's Elite
1st: Team STX
2nd: Team CRXLax.com
3rd: Lax Rats
4th: Team Wild
5th: CU Club
6th: Lakeshore
7th: 'Merica
1st Place: On The Hop Nation/Lacrossewear
2nd Place: The Cage Goes All Out
3rd Place: The Big Green Herd 
4th Place: Brine Elite
5th Place: The Sharks 
6th Place: Adrenaline Tropics
7th Place: Jammin’ Salmon
8th Place: Millennium Chiefs 
9th Place: Rock-it Pocket Pirates 
10th Place: Rocky Mountain Oysters 
11th Place: Israel National Team
12th Place: Steve French 
13th Place: Motive Pure
14th Place: New Zealand
15th Place: Warrior X 
16th Place: Team Gutman 
17th Place: LOFers
18th Place: Prestige Lacrosse Club

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines