August 11, 2014
Lake Placid's 25th annual event closed out on Sunday with nine champions crowned. (Tommy Gilligan/Lake Placid Lacrosse)
Lake Placid's 25th annual event closed out on Sunday with nine champions crowned. (Tommy Gilligan/Lake Placid Lacrosse)

Sailin' Shoe, Motive Pure, Power-Tek Among Nine Placid Champions

from Press Release

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. — Nine teams were crowned champions in the adult divisions Sunday at the Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Classic, wrapping up the 25th year of the annual tournament that brings more than 230 teams to the High Peaks region of the Adirondack Mountains.

Sailin' Shoe, a team honored Saturday night as a Lake Placid Legends Team of Distinction, won the Men's Grand Masters 1 division with a 9-6 victory over Atlantic Sportswear. Bill Bergen, who coaches at Clarkson University, scored three goals and was named the MVP of the contest. The victory represents the 19th championship for the Sailin' Shoe squad, one of the first to compete in the Lake Placid tournament.

Motive Pure, a team organized by former Princeton University star Jesse Hubbard, won its first championship with a 9-7 victory over Central New York-based Graph-Tex in the Men's Masters 1 division. Former Princeton All-American Matt Striebel led Motive Pure with two goals and an assist. Goaltender Anthony Katagas, an Academy Award-winning film producer, was named Motive Pure's MVP.

Team Power-Tek, comprised largely of Colgate University alumni, won its third Men's Open 1 division title in three years, downing Select Sector SPDRs 10-5. Former Colgate standouts Matt Lalli and Jim Carroll led the way for Power-Tek. Lalli scored three goals and Carroll, a face-off specialist, was named MVP.

Team STX won the Women's Open 1 division, defeating Graph-Tex 13-9 in the championship match. Sammy Cermack, who earned All-America honors at Johns Hopkins University, was the MVP for STX.

Below is a full list of Sunday's adult division championship winners and scores, as well as the MVP and Sportsmanship Award recipients for each team.

Men's Grand Masters 1: Sailin Shoe

Sailin Shoe 9, Atlantic Sportswear 6
MVP: Bill Bergen, Sailin Shoe
Sportsmanship Award: John Blasi, Atlantic Sportswear

Men's Grand Masters 2: Creaky Crimson

Creaky Crimson 8, Denison 2
MVP: John Lechner, Creaky Crimson
Sportsmanship Award: Andrew Bolger, Denison

Men's Masters 1: Motive Pure

Motive Pure 9, Graph-Tex 7
MVP: Anthony Katagas, Motive Pure
Sportsmanship Award: Peter Milliman, Graph-Tex

Men's Masters 2: Olden Flyers

Olden Flyers 7, Burnt Too 6
MVP: Kevin Kaffl, Olden Flyers
Sportsmanship Award: Pat McCabe, Burnt Too

Men's Masters 3: Pure Performance

Pure Performance 10, TROG 5
MVP: Doug Madden, Pure Performance
Sportsmanship Award: Jamie Blalock, TROG

Men's Open 1: Team Power-Tek

Team Power-Tek 10, Select Sector SPDRs 5
MVP: Jim Carroll, Team Power-Tek
Sportsmanship Award: Trevor Baptiste, Select Sector SPDRs

Men's Open 2: Original Flavor

Original Flavor 10, Stixx-N-Stones 9
MVP: Ryan Alden, Original Flavor
Sportsmanship Award: Bryce Serriello, Stixx-N-Stones

Women's Open 1: Team STX

Team STX 13, Graph-Tex 9
MVP: Sammy Cermack, Team STX
Coaches' Award: Bridget Daley, Graph-Tex

Women's Open 2: STEPS

STEPS 11, Dark Horse 7
MVP: Abby Witczak, STEPS
Coaches' Award: Gina Campese, Dark Horse


For more information on the Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Classic, please visit and email

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines