August 13, 2014
The annual Ocean City Classic hits the beach in Maryland this weekend, with over 100 club teams making the trek. (John Strohsacker)
The annual Ocean City Classic hits the beach in Maryland this weekend, with over 100 club teams making the trek. (John Strohsacker)

Ocean City Lacrosse Classic Kicks Off Thursday

By Megan Schneider | | Twitter

Summer is coming to an end as college teams begin to prep for their fall ball seasons, but that doesn't mean some players still have one last chance to soak up the sun and play by the beach in the annual Ocean City Lacrosse Classic, featuring more than 100 club teams from around the country.

Returning for a second year, the Rolling Surf Division of wheelchair lacrosse, sponsored by Paralyzed Veterans of America, will feature four squads – Wheel Chair San Diego, Colorado Rolling Mammoth, Richmond Sportables and Free State Lacrosse. Joining these talented athletes in Ocean City, Md., are male and female players ranging in age and skill level in seven other divisions: men's elite Atlantic (18+), men's elite bayside (18+), men's master's (both A/B divisions, 35+), men's grandmasters (45+), men's king Neptune (50+) and women's elite (18+).

Recapping last summer, Team STX finished its first year with a 12-8 win on the shore, defeating Salty Balty to take home the hardware in the women's elite division. However, Team STX will not be returning this weekend to defend their title because the athletes plan to mix up their tournaments in order to expand the footprint of the women's game. Next year, this sponsored team hopes to make an appearance in the Midwest.

After falling to Team STX last summer, Salty Balty will be looking to redeem themselves in the Ocean City Lacrosse Classic. (John Strohsacker)

Keep an eye on Salty Balty, coached by Hopkins' rising junior Maddy Aldave according to team registrations made publicly available on If they notch a perfect record in their pool, they could face CyberCore Technologies, coached by Tewaaraton finalist and Syracuse graduate Alyssa Murray.

In the men's elite Atlantic division, 1Lacrosse made their debut in 2013, finished first in their pool and advanced to the championship to win it all. This club team topped a veteran Jack Lingo/Fireball squad in the finals, rallying for a 10-6 win in its first ever appearance. Duke midfielder Deemer Class organized 1Lacrosse last summer with fellow NCAA Division I and III players and pitched the concept to 1Lacrosse owner Todd Raley.

Leading the way this weekend for 1Lacrosse are current Duke standouts, including rising juniors Myles Jones, who tallied 63 points (37 goals, 26 assists) this past season, and Class, who docked 65 points (38 goals and 27 assists) leading the Blue Devils to the national championship. 1Lacrosse will be challenged by teams with a variety of talent, including the Salt Shakerz if they both advance past pool play, which boasts current and former MLL, NLL and LXM professional players, as well as college and MCLA athletes.

In last summer's men's elite bayside division, the Flamingos were crowned champions, but they too have not returned this year, leaving the title up for grabs between 14 teams. Koopers and National Premium/Shore Steamers won the men's masters A and B divisions, respectively, while Kooper's Old Guys proved they weren't so old after all earning the championship trophy in the grandmasters division. Team Harley also sped past the other king Neptune participants to victory last year. Because the first year of the Rolling Surf division was improvisational, players were shared between teams to have full sides, making the final an East vs. West challenge where the West emerged victorious 6-4.

Who will win the Ocean City Lacrosse Classic in each respective division this weekend?

Check back for tournament updates as they are available throughout the event, as well as coverage of the championship games on Sunday. Please see below for links to each division's schedules:

Women's Elite Division

Men's Elite Atlantic Division

Men's Elite Bayside Division

Men's Masters A Division

Men's Masters B Division

Men's Championship Games

Rolling Surf Division

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines