Sideline Chatter: What's Your Take on the Tewaaraton Award Race?

Lacrosse Magazine's "Sideline Chatter" series puts fans on the soapbox for all things lacrosse. Each month, LM poses a question to its readers and selects a winner, who receives a prize from Harrow.

Your peeps are talking. Get in on the conversation today!

First Name:

Last Name:

City, State:




Hold on a second. Before we just hand the Tewaaraton Award to potential repeaters Steele Stanwick and Shannon Smith, shouldn't we take a long, hard look at the field?

For instance, will this be the year a non-Division I player (ahem, Sam Bradman) advances among watch list candidates? Or is there a player from a non-championship caliber team that perhaps deserves more recognition? (For better or worse, the Tewaaraton has developed a tradition of going to players from teams that win it all.) Who's your dark horse? What would you -- lovers and haters alike -- do to uphold the prestige of our sport's Heisman Trophy? 

For this installment of "Sideline Chatter," Lacrosse Magazine wants to know:

What's your take on this year's Tewaaraton Award race?

For your reference, previous Tewaaraton Award winners:

2001 - Doug Shanahan (Hofstra), Jen Adams (Maryland)
2002 - Mike Powell (Syracuse), Erin Elbe (Georgetown)
2003 - Chris Rotelli (Virginia), Rachael Becker (Princeton)
2004 - Mike Powell (Syracuse), Amy Appelt (Virginia)
2005 - Kyle Harrison (Johns Hopkins), Katie Chrest (Duke)
2006 - Matt Ward (Virginia), Kristen Kjellman (Northwestern)
2007 - Matt Danowski (Duke), Kristen Kjellman (Northwestern)
2008 - Mike Leveille (Syracuse), Hannah Nielsen (Northwestern)
2009 - Max Seibald (Cornell), Hannah Nielsen (Northwestern)
2010 - Ned Crotty (Duke), Caitlyn McFadden (Maryland)
2011 - Steele Stanwick (Virginia), Shannon Smith (Northwestern)