May 10, 2008

May 10, 2008

DENVER -- Colorado State scored the final six goals of the game to beat Cal Poly 8-5 in overtime at Invesco Field at Mile High to win the US Lacrosse Women's Division Intercollegiate Associates National Championship.

The victory ended Cal Poly's seven-year run as the US Lacrosse Women's Division Intercollegiate Associates champion. Cal Poly had gone a perfect 28-0 in the national tournament before today's loss.

After CSU scored first, Cal Poly seemed to have control of the game. The Mustangs scored three goals in the final six and a half minutes of the first half to take a 3-1 halftime lead. Sarina Madnick scored just 1:40 into the second half to make it 4-1 and after a Erin O'Brien goal for CSU, Cal Pol went back up by three at 5-2 on a goal by Ashley Hennen with 17:22 left in regulation.

"This team has come back several times this year in those kinds of situations," said CSU head coach Bob Vlahakis. "We felt pretty good about stopping them and we knew that we could score."

CSU All-American goalie Brooke Lewis took care of things on the defensive end, blanking the Mustangs for the final 23 minutes of the game. Lewis finished with nine saves.

The offense got going with Andee Barocas, Katie Nepil and Kristen Kasney scoring consecutive goals for CSU, with Kasney's second of the game tying the score 5-5 with 4:27 left to play.

Lindsay Brown, the USL WDIA national player of the year, scored with 1:10 left in the first overtime period to give CSU the lead, and the Rams put it away on goals by Barocas and Kasney in the second overtime period.

"For four years, ever since I've gotten here we've talked about this," said Brown, a Colorado native. "It's just a dream come true, it's surreal."

Beating Cal Poly, which had upset top-ranked and unbeaten UCSB in the semifinals on Friday, had extra meaning for CSU.

"Taking out the national champions for seven years running," said Lewis, "That was the best feeling you could have had."

Scoring Summary
1st Half
CSU: Kristen Kasney (Erin O'Brien), 21:54
CP: Allegra Cabellon (Amber Curry), 6:32
CP: Hayley Saxton, 4:39
CP: Kaitlin Chandler, 1:53

2nd Half
CP: Sarina Madnick (Allegra Cabellon), 28:20
CSU: Erin O'Brien (Lindsay Brown), 19:34
CP: Ashley Hemmen, 17:22
CSU: Andee Barocas (Lindsay Brown), 15:02
CSU: Katie Nepil, 8:32
CSU: Kristen Kasney (Andee Barocas), 4:27

1st overtime period
CSU: Lindsay Brown (Andee Barocas), 1:10
CSU: Andee Barocas, 2:08
CSU: Kristen Kasney (Ashley Gaume), 0:41

CSU Goals: Kristen Kasney 3, Andee Barocas 2, Lindsay Brown 1, Katie Nepil 1, Erin O'Brien 1.
CSU Assists: Lindsay Brown 2, Lisa Long 1, Andee Barocas 1, Erin O'Brien 1, Ashley Gaume 1
CSU Saves: Brooke Lewis 9

CP Goals: Allegra Cabellon 1, Hayley Saxton 1, Sarina Madnick 1, Kaitlin Chandler 1, Ashley Hemmen 1.
CP Assists: Allegra Cabellon 1, Amber Curry 1.
CP Saves: Loran Spalding 7

All-Tournament Team
Kelly Buerkett, Army
Katy Dacey, Boston College
Kaitlin Chandler, Cal Poly
Molly Sauer, Cal Poly
Paige Spalding, Cal Poly
Amy Long, Colorado
Maia McPherson, Colorado
Jody Weisenhorn, Colorado
Lindsay Brown, Colorado State
Lindsey Hudek, Colorado State
Brooke Lewis, Colorado State
Julianne Williams, Georgia
Kandee Schroder, Lindenwood
Christine Lee, Michigan
Michelle Signorello, Michigan State
Kim Sauer, Minnesota
Lauren Masciantonio
Claire O'Leary, Santa Clara
Melissa Cooper, Texas A&M
Sarah Strock, UCLA
Ashley Antoon-Algieri, UCSB
Samantha Titus, Virginia Tech

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines