November 16, 2010

Team USA Indoor Roster Tabbed

from staff reports

Paul Rabil, MVP of the 2010 world field lacrosse championships, will be among seven members of that team suiting up for the 2011 U.S. indoor team.

NEW YORK, N.Y. -- U.S. Indoor Lacrosse announced the roster for the U.S. Men's National Indoor Lacrosse Team which will compete in the 2011 World Indoor Lacrosse Championship in Prague, Czech Republic next May. The roster was narrowed down following three tryout/exhibition weekends held in Wayne, N.J., Syracuse, N.Y. and Baltimore, Md.

"The chance to represent the United States at this elite level is the ultimate honor in lacrosse," said USIL President and GM Graham D'Alvia. "I am honored and look forward to the opportunity to further develop this team that will represent our great country in this sport, both on and off the turf."

The 2011 national team includes four members of the 2007 National Team that finished third in Halifax, Nova Scotia: Scott Ditzell, Erik Miller, Chris Schiller and Matt Zash. Schiller and Zash are also among seven team members who played for the gold medal-winning U.S. team in the 2010 field lacrosse world championships. Brendan Mundorf, Paul Rabil, Eric Martin, Max Seibald and Drew Westervelt are the others.

Newcomers such as Mundorf, Rabil, Westervelt, Brian Langtry and Casey Powell help comprise the most offensively potent Team USA to participate in the World Indoor Championships, while Martin, Seibald and John Orsen headline the additions on the defensive side.

The World Indoor Lacrosse Championship takes place at Telsa Arena in Prague, Czech Republic on May 21-28, 2011. Australia, Canada, Czech Republic, England, Finland, Ireland and the Iroquois Nationals will join the United States in the one-week tournament.

Team USA Roster

F - Kevin Buchanan - Minnesota Swarm (Ohio State)
F - Brian Langtry - Colorado Mammoth (Hofstra)
F - Bill McGlone - Philadelphia Wings (Maryland)
F - Brendan Mundorf - Philadelphia Wings (UMBC)
F - Casey Powell - Boston Blazers (Syracuse)
F - Paul Rabil - Washington Stealth (Johns Hopkins)
F - Drew Westervelt - Philadelphia Wings (Maryland)

T - Greg Downing - Boston Blazers (Fairfield)
T - Kyle Hartzell - Washington Stealth (Salisbury)
T - Chris Schiller - Rochester Knighthawks (Penn State)
T - Max Seibald - Philadelphia Wings (Cornell)
T - Matt Zash - Rochester Knighthawks (Duke)

D - Mitch Belisle - Boston Blazers (Cornell)
D - Scott Ditzell - Rochester Knighthawks (Syracuse)
D - Eric Martin - Washington Stealth (Salisbury)
D - John Orsen - Boston Blazers (Hofstra)
D - Jack Reid - Boston Blazers (UMass)

G - Erik Miller - New York Titans* (Salisbury)

Reserve List

F - Sean Morris - Boston Blazers (UMass)
F - Chris Panos - Chicago Shamrox* (Hofstra)

T - Matt Alrich - Edmonton Rush (Delaware)
T - Jon Christmas - Philadelphia Wings (Virginia)
T - Pat Heim - Philadelphia Wings (Penn State)
T - Ryan Hotaling - Boston Blazers (Nazareth)
T - Jarett Park - Colorado Mammoth (Syracuse)
T - Brett Queener - Boston Blazers (Albany)
T - Greg Rogowski - Boston Blazers (Merrimack)

D - Josh Funk - Minnesota Swarm (Ohio State)
D - Anthony Kenny - Rochester Knighthawks* (Ohio State)
D - Brett Manney - Washington Stealth (Delaware)
D - Steve Panarelli - Philadelphia Wings (Syracuse)
D - Joe Smith - Buffalo Bandits (Towson)

G - Ginny Capicchioni - New Jersey Storm* (Sacred Heart)
G - Mickey Hover - Philadelphia Wings (Montgomery)

Five players from the Reserve List will be named to the World Team
roster in February.

*Last pro team

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines