August 2, 2009

USL Names 2009-10 U.S. Developmental Team

from staff reports

Photos: U.S. Developmental Team Tryouts
Video: Berger No Longer the New Kid

Notre Dame standout Jillian Byers was one of 24 players named Sunday to the 2009-10 U.S. Developmental team and one of 14 with previous national teams experience.

CATONSVILLE, Md. -- US Lacrosse announced Sunday the 24-player roster for the 2009-10 U.S. Developmental team following a two-day tryout at UMBC that included 64 of the nation's top women's lacrosse players.

Among the 24 players, 14 boast previous U.S. national teams experience -- including midfielder Kelly Berger, a veteran of both the Elite (2006-08) and Developmental (2005-06, 2008-09) teams. The roster also includes three players each from 2009 NCAA Division I finalists North Carolina and Northwestern, as well as three Boston University products.

"The tryouts went well. I felt great," Berger said. "It was refreshing to see a new, young group of girls come out and be excited. It's great to build the U.S. program from younger players. It's good to see new faces in this program."

Click here for a video interview with Berger.

Team USA debuts Oct. 11 at the fourth-annual US Lacrosse Stars and Stripes event. The newly-named Developmental team and gold medal-winning U.S. World Cup team will play North Carolina and James Madison at St. Stephen's & St. Agnes school in Alexandria, Va.

2009-10 U.S. Developmental Team

Jillian Byers, Notre Dame '09 *
Rachel Culp, Virginia Tech '09
McKinley Curro, Boston University '10
Jackie Lyons, Massachusetts '11
Shannon Smith, Northwestern '12 ~

Kelly Berger, James Madison '07 *^
Sarah Dalton, Boston University '09 *
Christina Dove, Syracuse '10 *
Alexandra Frank, Northwestern '12
Corrine Gandolfi, Hofstra '10
Mallory Poole, C.W. Post '08 *
Jennifer Russell, North Carolina '10 *
Lauren Schmidt, Stanford '10
Lauren Schwarzmann, Johns Hopkins '08 *
Becky Clipp, Maryland '07 *
Angela Hughes, Johns Hopkins '10 *
Kelly Munroe, Boston University '09 *
Colleen Olsen, Dartmouth '10
Lacey Vigmostad, Northwestern '12
Kristen Carr, North Carolina '10 *
Katy Fitzgerald, North Carolina '11

Kendall McBrearty, Virginia '08 *
Julie Wadland, Dartmouth '10 *
Natalie Wills, Vanderbilt '12

* denotes previous U.S. Developmental team member
^ denotes previous U.S. Elite team member
~ denotes previous U.S. Under-19 team member

deBeer Lacrosse is the official exclusive equipment and apparel supplier to the US Lacrosse Women's National Teams Program. Visit

US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) corporation, is the national governing body of men's and women's lacrosse. US Lacrosse has more than 300,000 members around the country. To learn more about the organization, please visit its Web site at

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines