About the Program

Beginning in 2010-11, the U.S. Women's National Teams Program will consist of two teams - the senior team and the U-19 team. Previously, the program had three teams - elite, developmental and U-19.

The Senior Team
The senior team represents the highest level of playing experience for women's lacrosse players and coaches in the United States. This squad is comprised of individuals who have demonstrated their exceptional abilities as lacrosse players with regards to skill but also through leadership and sportsmanship. The senior squad is designed to prepare and train the best players in the country to compete against the best collegiate and international teams in the world. Players will be selected from the senior team to participate in the FIL World Cup every four years.

The Under-19 Team
The Under-19 team represents an opportunity for young women to get exposure to international competition at the National Team level through preparation for competition at the FIL World Championship. The U-19 squad is assembled for competition in the quadrennial championships, and its members must not have played at the collegiate level before competing in the world championship. A two-year commitment is required from team members.

In addition to competing, the U.S. women's national team program annually hosts clinics for young players to help promote and develop the sport across the country.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines