March 24, 2011

Canada to Host FIL World Cup for First Time

from press release

Previous FIL World Cup Championships

Year Host Nation Championship Game
1982 England United States 12, England 11
1986 United States (Swarthmore, Pa.) Australia 10, United States 7
1989 Australia United States 6, England 5 (OT)
1993 Scotland United States 4, England 1
1997 Japan United States 3, Australia 2 (2 OT)
2001 England United States 14, Australia 7
2005 United States (Annapolis, Md.) Australia 14, United States 7
2009 Czech Republic United States 8, Australia 7

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) has awarded the 2013 World Cup to the Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA). The Oshawa's Civic Recreation Center in Oshawa, Ontario will serve as the venue for the quadrennial world championship; the event is slated to take place on July 11-20, 2013.

Shelley Maher, Director of Women's Lacrosse for the FIL, expressed her excitement that the CLA will serve as the hosts for the 2013 World Cup. "It is with tremendous anticipation that we announce Canada as the host location for 2013. Expecting the largest number of countries to ever compete in a World Cup, Canada, and in particular, Ontario, is well placed to host an outstanding event."

The 2013 World Cup will be the first women's World Cup hosted by Canada and the second major international women's event to take place in the land of the Maple Leaf. The CLA was the host of the 2007 U19 World Championship, which was won by the United States at Trent University. The return of the World Cup to North America marks the third time the event will place on the continent; the United States served as the host in 1986 and 2005.

"Our hosting group welcomed the world to Peterborough, Canada in 2007 for the U19 Women's World Championship," said Cheryl MacNeill, the co-chair of the organizing committee. "On the foundation of that successful event, we look to 2013 when we welcome the world to Oshawa, Canada for the FIL Women's World Cup. In many ways the Durham Region has been the center for growth and development of the sport of women's field lacrosse in Canada, and with a brand new field facility and a new University for housing, we plan on making this an event to remember.”

Stewart Begg, the CLA Vice President of International Competition for the CLA, added, "The CLA has recently announced a new strategy to manage our national team programs and being able to host an international event such as this will further highlight international lacrosse and our national team programs at home.”

Canada has competed in each of the eight tournaments previously contested, along with the United States, Australia, England, Scotland and Wales. Japan and the Czech Republic joined the tournament in 1993, while Germany first fielded a team in 2001. New Zealand’s entry into the 2005 tournament pushed the field to ten teams, and in 2009 a record 16 teams competed in Prague, including first-time participants Austria, Denmark, the Haudenosaunee, Ireland, Korea, and the Netherlands.

"The CLA is once again looking forward to putting on a world class event with the leadership of our experienced host committee led by Cheryl MacNeill, and the Women's Field Sector chair Marisa De Bari,” stated Joey Harris, the President of the CLA. “Canada last hosted in 2007 with great success and we are excited to be given the opportunity to repeat that success in 2013.  On behalf of the CLA and all its member associations across Canada, I'd like to thank FIL for granting this event to Canada and we look forward to welcoming all participants to Canada, the birthplace of lacrosse, to play Canada's national summer sport.”

The 2013 World Cup will mark the ninth time teams have competed for the quadrennial world championship; the United States is the reigning titleholder after their 8-7 victory over Australia in 2009. The Americans have won six of the eight titles, including the inaugural event in 1982 and a stretch of four consecutive from 1989-2001. The Australians are the only other team to have won the World Cup, having claimed the title in 1986 and again in 2005. Ironically, both Aussie triumphs came on United States soil.

The FIL was established in August 2008 in a merger of both the men's and women's international lacrosse associations and is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sport’s development throughout the world.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines