November 12, 2012

US Lacrosse Names Officials' Scholarship Winners for 2013 Convention

from press release

BALTIMORE — US Lacrosse today announced 51 men's and women's game lacrosse officials will receive scholarship monies to attend the 2013 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, Jan. 11-13, 2013 at the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

US Lacrosse awarded $10,000 that will be divided among the 51 scholarship winners to help cover costs of attending the convention. Four officials from each of the six super districts totaling 24 women's game officials and 27 men's game officials from 10 of its 11 districts received scholarships monies for the convention.

"This scholarship will enable me to attend the convention and meet face to face with other veteran officials," Paul Deinlein, a convention scholarship winner from Zionsville, Ind., said. "Rule books and videos are a great start to training, but nothing can replace the sharing of information face to face."

"I hope to bring back knowledge from the convention on ideas of how to recruit new officials who may not have any lacrosse background," Rob Price, a convention scholarship winner from Bentonville, Ariz., said. "I want to have experienced officials available for all the teams, youth level to high school. We are a newer chapter and want to start on the right path as teams develop in the area."

The 2013 US Lacrosse National Convention will boast speakers Bob Delaney, a retired 24-year NBA official, National Hall of Fame umpire Jen O'Donnell, Al Blau, Patti Cleary, Rick Wooten and many more.

"The integrity of the sport directly relates to game safety which officials play a primary role in preserving," Lucia Perfetti Clark, US Lacrosse officials education and training manager, said. "These convention scholarship winners are a few among many applicants who have demonstrated an interest for bettering themselves as officials as well as progressing their local lacrosse community."

To see the full convention schedule and to register for the 2013 US Lacrosse National Convention, visit:

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines